Frequently Asked Questions

Instructions for submitting projects for the 30th Annual GLAAD Media Awards will be available here in late September.

When is the deadline for submissions?

Materials must be received by Friday, November 23, 2019 at 6:00 p.m., PT.

What is the eligibility period for submissions?

Projects submitted for the 30th Annual GLAAD Media Awards must have been published, released, or broadcast in the United States between January 1, 2018 and December 31, 2018.

Why is the submission deadline before the end of the eligibility period?

GLAAD will consider media images which appear between November 15 and December 31, 2017.  However, we require that all media projects which appeared before November 15 be submitted by the November 15 deadline. 

If you have a project that you know will appear between the deadline and December 31, please contact GLAAD at to make special arrangements for submission.

What media projects are eligible for submission?

Click here for a list of categories and the eligibility parameters for each category.

Who can submit a project for nomination?

Anyone can submit a project for nomination. If you think something should be considered for nomination, you are welcome to submit it.

Must a media project be submitted in order to be nominated?

Mainstream Media – GLAAD monitors mainstream media on a year-round basis as part of our work to fight defamation and promote fair, accurate, and inclusive LGBT images in the media.  This monitoring provides a pool of potential nominees for GLAAD to review.  GLAAD may choose to nominate LGBTQ images from these media outlets – even if the image is not submitted.

Media Outlets Created By and For an LGBT Audience – GLAAD does not regularly monitor media created by and for the LGBTQ community for defamation – therefore, we do not generate a pool of potential nominees.  Furthermore, the limited availability and distribution of this media means GLAAD is not physically able to monitor it.  Therefore, all media outlets which are created by and for the LGBTQ community must submit their programming and journalism in order for it to be eligible for nomination.

What scoring criteria does GLAAD use to judge potential nominees?

All media projects with LGBTQ images are evaluated using four criteria:

1) Fair, Accurate and Inclusive Representations – Rather than portraying the LGBTQ community in broad stereotypes, the project deals with the characters or themes in a fair, accurate, and multi-dimensional manner.  (This is different than a “positive role model.”)  Inclusive means that the diversity of the LGBTQ community is represented.  This includes economic, geographic, and political diversity, as well as people of color, seniors, differently abled people, etc.

2) Boldness and Originality – The project breaks new ground by exploring LGBTQ subject matter in non-traditional ways and handles the LGBTQ content in a fresh and original manner.  Is this project cutting-edge?

3) Impact – The project impacts society in a significant way.  Does this project dramatically increase the cultural dialogue about LGBTQ issues?  Or, does this project reach an audience that is not regularly exposed to LGBTQ images and issues?

4) Overall Quality – A project of extremely high quality adds impact and significance to the images and issues portrayed.  Fair, accurate and inclusive images can sometimes be weakened when they are part of a poor-quality project.

When are the nominees announced?

The nominees will be announced late January 2018.  Check for a press release and a complete list of nominees.

How are award recipients selected?

Hundreds of GLAAD Media Awards voters contribute to the selection of award recipients in each category via online balloting.  Voters are comprised of three groups:  GLAAD staff and board, GLAAD members, and GLAAD volunteers & allies (which includes previous Special Honorees and media industry leaders. 

When are award recipients announced?

The announcement of award recipients in all categories is withheld until the GLAAD Media Award ceremonies.

GLAAD is committed to keeping our award shows to under a two-hour running time.  Even with more than one award show, there is not enough time to present all of the awards onstage.  When deciding which awards to present onstage, we select categories which reflect the range of the GLAAD's work with the media.  We choose a mix of entertainment, news, and Spanish-language awards.  For the categories that are not given out onstage, we will announce the award recipients in a press release after the events.

In mid-February 2018, GLAAD will announce which award categories will be given out in which cities.  Please check our website for further information.

How can my company become a corporate sponsor?

Please contact Amhir Hidalgo ( about becoming a corporate sponsor.

How can I buy tickets for the events?

Please visit

How can I volunteer for the events?

Please sign up to volunteer at

What if I have more questions or need additional information about the nominations process?

Please contact