Lilly Singh to host the 31st Annual GLAAD Media Awards in New York

GLAAD today announced that Lilly Singh, openly bisexual executive producer and host of NBC’s “A Little Late with Lilly Singh,” will serve as host of the 31st Annual GLAAD Media Awards in New York at the Hilton Midtown on Thursday, March 19. The 31st Annual GLAAD Media Awards are presented by Delta, Gilead, Hyundai, and Ketel One Family-Made Vodka.

“As she continues to break new ground for LGBTQ people of color on mainstream television, Lilly Singh inspires so many young LGBTQ people who feel like they have never seen themselves represented,” said GLAAD President and CEO Sarah Kate Ellis. “Lilly is hilarious, authentic, and perfectly captures the celebratory spirit of the GLAAD Media Awards.”

Lilly Singh is a multi-faceted entertainer, actress, producer, writer and creator.  With her NBC late-night talk show “A Little Late with Lilly Singh," Singh is the only woman to currently host a late-night talk show on a broadcast television network. Singh is also the first openly bisexual person and the first person of Indian descent to do so. She is also an executive producer as part of her company, Unicorn Island Productions. 

A leading force in the digital world, she has amassed a global audience of over 32 million followers on YouTube and across her other social media channels, where she writes, produces and stars in comedic and inspirational videos.  Singh was named to Forbes' 30 Under 30 Hollywood & Entertainment list, Fast Company's Most Creative People and TIME named her one of the most influential people on the internet. 

Singh is nominated for her first ever GLAAD Media Award this year for her segment “Lilly is Struggling to Date Women,” which is nominated for Outstanding Variety or Talk Show Episode. Singh also participated in GLAAD’s Spirit Day, the largest annual anti-LGBTQ bullying campaign.

GLAAD also announced today that award-winning actress, producer, and activist Judith Light will be honored with the Excellence in Media Award at the 31st Annual GLAAD Media Awards in New York. GLAAD previously announced that Ryan Murphy will be honored with the Vito Russo Award at the New York ceremony. Taylor Swift will receive the Vanguard Award and Janet Mock will receive the Stephen F. Kolzak Award at the 31st Annual GLAAD Media Awards in Los Angeles on Thursday, April 16.

GLAAD also announced over 175 nominees in 30 categories for the 31st Annual GLAAD Media Awards, including the returning category for Outstanding Broadway Production. The Outstanding Kids & Family Programming category expanded to ten nominees as a result of an increase in LGBTQ images across the kids and family television programming and an increase in GLAAD’s work to advocate for inclusion in this genre. GLAAD also announced Special Recognition honors for Netflix’s Special and for pioneering LGBTQ journalists Karen Ocamb and Mark Segal. For a full list of nominees for the 31st Annual GLAAD Media Awards, click here.

To purchase tickets for the 31st Annual GLAAD Media Awards, please visit