20 years of changing hearts and minds: 20th Annual GLAAD Media Award Nominees

20 years ago, the first GLAAD Media Awards raised awareness for our work to ensure fair, accurate and inclusive coverage of our lives. In 1990, LGBT inclusive television shows and news publications were honored in seven categories and we celebrated talk show host Phil Donahue's commitment to inclusion of LGBT people and stories. Today, we're proud to announce 186 nominees in 41 different categories at the 20th Annual GLAAD Media Awards Presented by IBM. Our categories now span telenovelas, comic books, limited release movies, theatre and digital journalism. Here's a look at this year's nominees or visit GLAAD Media Awards Central for a full list and ticket information: http://www.glaad.org/mediaawards/.

We've also announced that Special Honorees for the New York ceremony. Tyra Banks will receive the Excellence in Media Award for her strong commitment to educating the public about the lives of gay and transgender people by frequently featuring diverse stories on her talk show and on America's Next Top Model, including her inclusion of Isis King, the show's first transgender contestant, on the most recent cycle. Suze Orman will receive the Vito Russo award for raising the profile of LGBT Americans by using her position as one of the most recognized experts on personal finance to show that financial planning is a concern for all Americans, regardless of sexual orientation or gender identity. We hope you can join us at one of the GLAAD Media Awards ceremonies- in New York on March 28, 2009 at the Marriott Marquis; in Los Angeles on April 18 at the Nokia Theatre L.A. LIVE; and in San Francisco on May 9 at the Hilton San Francisco. To purchase tickets visit http://www.glaad.org/mediaawards. Join us in congratulating this year's outstanding representations of the LGBT community in the media and support us as we continue to change hearts and minds.