List of Award Recipients: 20th Annual GLAAD Media Awards Nokia Theatre L.A. Live in Los Angeles, April 18, 2009

April 18, 2009
Richard Ferraro Director of Communications (646) 871-8011 Kelly Striewski BWR (310) 550-7776

April 18, 2009, Los Angeles, CA – GLAAD Media Award recipients were announced in seven of this year's 41 media categories at the 20th Annual GLAAD Media Awards, presented nationally by IBM and by Absolut in Los Angeles, at the Nokia Theatre L.A. Live on Saturday night. Additional awards were presented in New York on March 28. The remaining awards will be presented in San Francisco on May 9 at the Hilton San Francisco.

A complete press release will be posted by 2 PM PT and photos from the event by 5 PM PT on Sunday, April 19, 2009 at

Following is a complete list of GLAAD Media Awards presented on stage, and the individuals that accepted the awards (accepters tentative):

  • Vanguard Award: Kathy Griffin
  • Stephen F. Kolzak Award: The Rt. Rev. V. Gene Robinson
  • Special Recognition: The L Word (Showtime)  [Accepted by: show creator Ilene Chaiken, with Jennifer Beals, Katherine Moennig and Leisha Hailey]
  • Special Recognition: Prop 8: The Musical (  [Accepted by: director Adam Shankman]
  • Outstanding Film – Wide Release: Milk (Focus Features)  [Accepted by: director Gus Van Sant, screenwriter Dustin Lance Black, and producers Bruce Cohen and Dan Jinks]
  • Outstanding Comedy Series: Desperate Housewives (ABC)  [Accepted by: show creator Marc Cherry, Teri Hatcher, Dana Delaney, Kyle MacLachlan, Tuc Watkins, Kevin Rahm, Andrea Bowen and Brenda Strong]
  • Outstanding Individual Episode (in a series without an LGBT character): "Unidentified Funk" The New Adventures of Old Christine (CBS)  [Accepted by: Julia Louis-Dreyfus, Megan Mullally, Clark Gregg, and show creator Kari Lizer]
  • Outstanding Talk Show Episode:  "Ellen & Portia's Wedding Day" The Ellen DeGeneres Show(syndicated)  [Accepted by: Ellen DeGeneres and Portia de Rossi]
  • Outstanding Spanish-Language TV Journalism – Newsmagazine: "A juzgar por las apariencias" y "En otro cuerpo" Aquí y Ahora (Univision)  [Accepted by: Univision producer Belissa Morillo and Monica Zapata, sister of murdered transgender teenager Angie Zapata]

GLAAD also announced that Brothers & Sisters (ABC) received the award for Outstanding Drama Series and Secrets of the Trade by Jonathan Tolins received the award for Outstanding Los Angeles Theater production.

A complete list of award recipients, including those announced at the New York event on March 28, as well as information about the upcoming GLAAD Media Awards events in San Francisco on May 9, may be found

The GLAAD Media Awards recognize and honor media for their fair, accurate and inclusive representations of the lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender (LGBT) community and the issues that affect their lives. GLAAD Media Award nominees were published, released or broadcast between January 1, 2008 and December 31, 2008.