GLAAD Congratulates Openly LGBT and LGBT-Inclusive Emmy Nominees

Chris Colfer, Jesse Tyler Ferguson, Neil Patrick Harris, Jane Lynch among nominees
July 8, 2010

Rich Ferraro
Director of Communications
(646) 871-8011

July 8, 2010, Los Angeles, CA - The Gay & Lesbian Alliance Against Defamation (GLAAD), the nation's lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender (LGBT) media advocacy and anti-defamation organization, today congratulated the openly LGBT actors as well as the creative teams of several LGBT-inclusive television programs that received nominations for the 62nd Annual Primetime Emmy Awards.

A list of noteworthy LGBT Emmy nominees appears below.

“Today’s nominees reflect a diverse range of openly gay and bisexual actors, characters and plot lines, all of which help Americans better understand and accept our community,” said Jarrett Barrios, President of the Gay & Lesbian Alliance Against Defamation (GLAAD). “By nominating eight openly gay, lesbian or bisexual actors for television’s highest honor, the Academy of Television Arts and Sciences has sent a clear message that LGBT actors are limitless in the roles that they play and offer a rich variety of talent that deserves recognition.”

Openly LGBT actors nominated (alphabetically):

• Chris Colfer as Kurt Hummel (Glee)
• Alan Cumming as Eli Gold (The Good Wife)
• Neil Patrick Harris as Barney Stinson (How I Met Your Mother) and as Bryan Ryan (Glee)
• Jesse Tyler Ferguson as Mitchell Pritchett (Modern Family)
• Jane Lynch as Sue Sylvester (Glee) and as Dr. Linda Freeman (Two and a Half Men)
• Ian McKellen as Two (The Prisoner) • Lily Tomlin as Marilyn Tobin (Damages)

Eric Stonestreet was nominated for Outstanding Supporting Actor in a Comedy Series for his role as Cameron, Mitchell’s partner, on Modern Family and Will Arnett was nominated for Outstanding Guest Actor in a Comedy Series for his role as the openly gay Devin Banks on 30 Rock.

Glee was the most nominated comedy series this year with 19 nominations, while Mad Men led all drama series with 17 nominations. Among Glee nominations were nods for openly gay director Paris Barclay, who directed the episode in which Kurt comes out to his father, as well as for the show’s openly gay creator Ryan Murphy, who wrote and directed the pilot.

Also of note, comedian Wanda Sykes was nominated for her HBO comedy special, Wanda Sykes: I’ma Be Me, which touched upon her experiences as a recently married lesbian woman raising a family. Sykes recently received the coveted Stephen F. Kolzak Award at the 21st Annual GLAAD Media Awards in San Francisco. In 2001, GLAAD also honored Glee director Paris Barclay with that same prize.

The 62 Annual Primetime Emmy Awards air live Sunday, August 29, 2010 at 8PM EST/5PM PST on NBC.