GLAAD Announces Awards to be Presented Onstage at New York, Los Angeles and San Francisco Events

February 17, 2010
Richard Ferraro Director of Communications (646) 871-8011

February 17, 2010, New York, NY - Over the past 20 years, the GLAAD Media Awards have increased dramatically in size and scope.  At the first GLAAD Media Awards in 1990, there were 34 nominees in seven categories.  This year, we have 152 nominees in 24 English and 8 Spanish-language categories – in addition to Special Honorees and Special Recognitions in each city.  Even with three award shows there is not enough time to present the awards to all the recipients onstage.  Therefore we must choose which of the categories to present onstage, carefully selecting awards that reflect the range of the GLAAD's work - a mix of print, broadcast and online news, entertainment and Spanish-language media.

Below is a list of categories that we plan to give onstage at the 21st Annual GLAAD Media Awards.  (As always, unforeseen production issues could cause changes to this plan.  For the most current list of awards being given onstage, please continue to visit

If a category is not listed below, the award will not be given out onstage this year.  Award recipients in categories not given onstage will be listed in the national program book and announced in a press release immediately following the New York event on March 13, 2010.

NEW YORK -- March 13
Outstanding Drama Series
Outstanding TV Movie or Mini-Series
Outstanding TV Journalism Segment
Outstanding Digital Journalism Article

LOS ANGELES -- April 17
Outstanding Film - Wide Release
Outstanding Comedy Series
Outstanding Reality Program
Outstanding Spanish-Language TV Journalism Segment

Outstanding Documentary
Outstanding Music Artist
Outstanding Digital Journalism - Multimedia

For further information about the GLAAD Media Awards, please visit, or contact Jonathan Rosales at