Adam Lambert to Perform at 21st Annual GLAAD Media Awards Presented in Los Angeles by ABSOLUT Vodka

Constance McMillen to Present Stephen F. Kolzak Award to Wanda Sykes
March 29, 2010
Richard Ferraro Director of Communications (646) 871-8011

Drew Barrymore, Tom Ford, Sofia Vergara, cast members of Glee scheduled to attend

March 29, 2010, Los Angeles, CA – The Gay & Lesbian Alliance Against Defamation (GLAAD) announced today that recording artist Adam Lambert will perform at the 21st Annual GLAAD Media Awards Presented in Los Angeles by ABSOLUT® Vodka on April 17, 2010 at the Hyatt Regency Century Plaza.

The GLAAD Media Awards elevate and promote fair, accurate and inclusive stories of lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender (LGBT) issues, people and allies that have increased awareness, understanding and respect for the lives of LGBT people. The GLAAD Media Awards also fund GLAAD's work to amplify stories of LGBT people and issues that build support for equality.

Lambert's debut album, For Your Entertainment, debuted at #3 on the Billboard 200 and has since been certified Gold by the Recording Industry Association of America. He is nominated this year for a GLAAD Media Award for Outstanding Music Artist.

"GLAAD has advocated for out music artists, including myself, and I am proud to be part of the 21st Annual GLAAD Media Awards this year," said Adam Lambert. "GLAAD's work to share stories that grow acceptance and understanding about the gay and transgender community is so important in our culture today."

GLAAD also confirmed that Constance McMillen, the 18-year-old student from Fulton, Mississippi whose high school cancelled a prom rather than permit McMillen to attend with her girlfriend, would be presenting Wanda Sykes with the Stephen F. Kolzak Award. With the help of the American Civil Liberties Union, McMillen filed suit against her school, asking them to reinstate the prom for everyone, without discrimination. This week, a federal judge in Mississippi ruled that while he wouldn't force the school to hold a prom but agreed that McMillen's First Amendment rights had been violated.

During an appearance on The Wanda Sykes Show, Sykes asked McMillen to present the award to her. Emmy® Award-winning comedian Wanda Sykes will be honored with the Stephen F. Kolzak Award, which is presented to an openly LGBT media professional who has made a significant difference in promoting equal rights for our community. In 2009, Sykes debuted her own late night talk show on Fox, and premiered her second HBO stand up special, Wanda Sykes: I'ma Be Me. In November 2008, Sykes came out at a Stand Out for Equality rally in Las Vegas, and announced that she legally married her wife in California. In May 2009, Sykes became the first openly gay and first African American woman to be the featured entertainer for the annual White House Correspondents' Association dinner. Past recipients of the Stephen F. Kolzak Award include Rufus Wainwright, Melissa Etheridge, Todd Haynes, Bill Condon, Alan Ball, Ellen DeGeneres, and Sir Ian McKellen.

GLAAD previously announced that Golden Globe®-winning actress Drew Barrymore will be honored with the Vanguard Award at the Los Angeles ceremony. The Vanguard Award is presented to media professionals who have increased the visibility and understanding of the LGBT community. In 1995, Barrymore starred in Boys on the Side, written by openly gay filmmaker Don Roos, which won the Outstanding Film Award at the 7th Annual GLAAD Media Awards. In 2009, Barrymore undertook the role of "Rosie Goode", the lesbian daughter of a widower played by Robert De Niro in Everybody's Fine, nominated for Outstanding Film – Wide Release at this year's GLAAD Media Awards. Off the screen Barrymore has always been outspoken in her support of the LGBT community. In May 2009, when the California Supreme Court upheld Proposition 8, Barrymore joined thousands of protestors in the streets of West Hollywood demanding marriage equality. Past recipients of the Vanguard Award include Charlize Theron, Antonio Banderas, Janet Jackson, Sharon Stone, Elizabeth Taylor, Eric McCormack, Liza Minnelli, Kathy Griffin and Whoopi Goldberg.

Candis Cayne and Wilson Cruz will host the event. Other guests and presenters scheduled to attend include cast members from Glee, Tom Ford (A Single Man), Eric Dane (Valentine's Day, Grey's Anatomy), Jason Lewis (Sex & the City), Sofia Vergara (Modern Family), Chaz Bono, Benjamin Bratt (La Mission), RuPaul (RuPaul's Drag Race), Bryan Batt (Mad Men), Rob Halford of Judas Priest, Elizabeth Keener, Clementine Ford (The L Word) and Countess LuAnn de Lesseps (Real Housewives of New York City). More names to be announced.

Awards scheduled to be presented onstage include the following categories: Outstanding Film – Wide Release, Outstanding Comedy Series, Outstanding Reality Program, and Outstanding Spanish-Language TV Journalism Segment. A complete list of this year's 152 nominees and award recipients from the GLAAD Media Awards in New York are available at

Each year, the GLAAD Media Awards in New York, Los Angeles and San Francisco bring together more than 4,000 supporters to raise funds for the organization's work.

More than 100 corporate partners are showing their support, including New York Co-Presenting corporate partners IBM and Prudential, Los Angeles Presenting corporate partner ABSOLUT® Vodka and San Francisco Presenting corporate partner Southwest Airlines. GLAAD is also grateful to the 21st Annual GLAAD Media Awards Platinum Underwriter corporate partners: AT&T, Anheuser-Busch, Inc., Time Warner, Lexus and University of Phoenix, as well as Underwriter corporate partners: Allstate Insurance Company, American Airlines, Comcast, Delta Air Lines, Harrah's Foundation, Herb Ritts Foundation, Here Media, MTV Networks, MillerCoors, New York City Marriott & Renaissance Hotels, The Palette Fund, PricewaterhouseCoopers, Sheppard, Mullin, Richter & Hampton LLP, Sony Pictures Entertainment, Terry K. Watanabe Charitable Trust and UBS.

Gallery tickets for the Los Angeles event are $300 and general tickets are $450. For a full list of corporate partners and information on how to become a corporate partner, or to become a table host, purchase tickets or place a tribute in the tribute book, please call (877) 519-7904 or visit

A final GLAAD Media Awards ceremony will take place in San Francisco on June 5, 2010.