Yvonne Strahovski, Luke Hemsworth, Courtney Act, and more Australian stars take a stand in support of marriage equality

October 10, 2017

GLAAD today released a video featuring some of the most well-known Australian celebrities encouraging Aussies to vote 'Yes' in the country's marriage equality survey. Australia is in the final weeks of its national postal survey and some leading stars of film and television are joining together with GLAAD to encourage all Australians to "Vote Yes!" in this pivotal moment for LGBTQ equality. While non-binding and voluntary, should the majority vote 'Yes,' Prime Minister Malcolm Turnbull has said that he would introduce pro-marriage equality legislation to a free vote in Parliament. Polls have shown that 63% of Australians support marriage equality.

Yvonne Strahovski said, "As I’m sure you’re all well aware by now, Australians are currently deciding on the right of gay and lesbian couples to marry. Everybody has the right to love, and everyone has the right to choose who they love"

From Luke Hemsworth, "Don’t miss out on the chance to have your voice heard in this historic moment in Australian history… Vote yes!"

Check out the video below:

Hugh Sheridan added, "But what you might not know is that the current results indicate that the response is too close to call. So, let’s get Australia on the right side of history… post your ballot. Post. Your. Ballot."

Courtney Act said, "The time has come for all Australians to be able to marry the person they love."

Participants include:

  • Hugh Sheridan – (“Packed to the Rafters”, “House Husbands”)
  • Yvonne Strahovski – (“The Handmaid’s Tale,” “Chuck,” “Dexter”)
  • Luke Hemsworth – (“Westworld,” “Infini,” "Kill Me Three Times")
  • Daniel MacPherson – ("Strike Back,” “APB,” “The Shannara Chronicles,” “Neighbors”)
  • Courtney Act - (“RuPaul’s Drag Race”)
  • Danielle Cormack – (“Wentworth,” “Rake,” “Underbelly,” “Xena,” "Deep Water,” "Shortland Street")
  • Nicole da Silva – (“Wentworth,” “Rush,” “Doctor Doctor”)
  • Zoe Ventoura – (“Packed to the Rafters,” “Hyde & Seek”)
  • Tilda Cobham-Hervey – (“Hotel Mumbai,” “52 Tuesdays,” "The Kettering Incident,” “Barracuda”)
  • Lee Jones - (“Wake in Fright,” “The Bastard Executioner”)
  • Rick Cosnett – (“Quantico,” “The Flash,” "The Vampire Diaries”)
  • Harriet Dyer – (“The Killing Ground,” “Love Child,” “Janet King,” “No Activity”) 

Eligible Australians have until 6pm (local time) on Friday, 20 October 2017 to request a replacement form.

Request a replacement Marriage Law Postal Survey here: www4.abs.gov.au/web/survey.nsf/amlpspprenqform

Key dates

  • Friday, 20 October (6pm local time) - Final day for requesting or picking up replacement survey forms, or for requesting a Secure Access Code to access telephone and online response options.
  • Friday, 27 October - Please mail your form back to the Australian Bureau of Statistics (ABS) by this date to make sure it counts.  
  • Tuesday, 7 November (6pm local time) - The survey closes! If your survey is received after this, it will not be counted.
  • Wednesday, 15 November - Survey results will be published on the ABS website.

For more information visit: www.voteYES.org.au or www.equalitycampaign.org.au