UPDATING: Award Recipients at the 31st Annual GLAAD Media Awards

July 30, 2020

On July 30, GLAAD hosted a virtual ceremony to announce the award recipients of the 31st Annual GLAAD Media Awards. The event streamed live on GLAAD’s Facebook and YouTube, and will also air on Logo on Monday, August 3 at 8pm ET.

During the virtual ceremony, GLAAD spotlighted the award recipients for the following categories:

Outstanding Film - Wide Release: Booksmart (United Artists Releasing)
Outstanding Drama Series: Pose (FX)
Outstanding Comedy Series: Schitt’s Creek (Pop)
Outstanding Individual Episode (in a series w/o a regular LGBTQ character): "Two Doors Down" Dolly Parton's Heartstrings (Netflix)
Outstanding Music Artist: Lil Nas X, 7 (Columbia)
Outstanding TV Journalism Segment: “One-on-One with Mayor Pete Buttigieg” The Rachel Maddow Show (MSNBC)
Outstanding Magazine Article: “The Trans Obituaries Project” by Raquel Willis (OUT)
Special Recognition: Special (Netflix)
Special Recognition: Karen Ocamb, former news editor, Los Angeles Blade
Special Recognition: Mark Segal, founder and publisher, Philadelphia Gay News

Prior to the virtual ceremony, GLAAD announced the award recipients of the remaining GLAAD Media Awards categories on Twitter, which featured acceptance speeches from each of the award recipients. Previously announced award recipients and their acceptance speeches can be found below (in order of announcement). For a full list of nominees, click here.

Outstanding TV Movie: Transparent: Musicale Finale  (Amazon)

Outstanding Film - Limited Release: Rafiki  (Film Movement)

Outstanding Documentary: State of Pride  (YouTube Originals)

Outstanding Spanish-Language Digital Journalism - Video or Multimedia: “América a Fondo: Brigitte Baptiste, el Rostro de la (bio) Diversidad” por David Casasús (EFE)

Outstanding Spanish-Language TV Journalism Segment: “Amor Sin Condición” Noticiero Univision 33  (Univision)

Outstanding Newspaper Article: “Military Reports No Discharges Under Trans Ban — But Advocates Have Doubts” by Chris Johnson (Washington Blade)

Outstanding Spanish-Language Digital Journalism Article: “Soy Gay y Estoy Orgulloso de Poder Decirlo: Jorge Luis Martínez, patinador mexicano” por Mario Villagrán (GQ Mexico)

Outstanding Limited Series: Tales of the City  (Netflix)

Outstanding Spanish-Language TV Interview: “Cómo y Cuándo Salir del Clóset” Un Nuevo Día  (Telemundo)

Outstanding Kids & Family Programming [TIE]: The Bravest Knight  (Hulu) and High School Musical: The Musical: The Series  (Disney+)

Outstanding Spanish-Language TV Journalism – Newsmagazine [TIE]: “Después de Stonewall” (CNN en Español) and “Orgullo” Despierta América  (Univision)

Outstanding Reality Program: Are You the One?  (MTV)

Outstanding Comic Book: Star Wars: Doctor Aphra, by Simon Spurrier, Emilio Laiso, Andrea Broccardo, Wilton Santos, Caspar Wijngaard, Marc Deering, Don Ho, Walden Wong, Chris Bolson, Scott Hanna, Elsa Charretier, Rachelle Rosenberg, Chris O'Halloran, Stephane Paitreau, Lee Loughridge, Edgar Delgado, Jim Campbell, Joe Caramagna (Marvel Comics)

Outstanding Broadway Production: The Inheritance, by Matthew Lopez

Outstanding Variety or Talk Show Episode: “Jonathan Van Ness: Honey, She's An Onion With All Sorts of Layers” The Late Show with Stephen Colbert  (CBS)

Outstanding TV Journalism – Newsmagazine: “Am I Next? Trans and Targeted” Nightline (ABC)

Outstanding Magazine Overall Coverage: Advocate

Outstanding Digital Journalism Article: “Trump Administration to LGBT Couples: Your ‘Out of Wedlock’ Kids Aren’t Citizens” by Scott Bixby (TheDailyBeast.com)

Outstanding Video Game: The Outer Worlds (Private Division)

Outstanding Spanish-Language Scripted Television Series: El Corazón Nunca Se Equivoca (Univision)

Outstanding Digital Journalism – Video or Multimedia: “Stonewall 50: The Revolution” produced by Sekiya Dorsett, Brooke Sopelsa, Elizabeth Kuhr, Shahrzad Elghanayan, Wesley Oliver, Tim Fitzsimons, Victor Limjoco (NBC OUT and Nightly Films)

Outstanding Blog: My Fabulous Disease