Which four states have hurt LGBT military members by denying them spousal benefits?

Four states have denied spousal military benefits to LGBT National Guard service members, in a move that contradicts the Supreme Court's ruling that struck down section 3 of the so-called "Defense of Marriage Act" (DOMA) and a Pentagon directive to treat all military members equally.

Oklahoma's governor, Mary Fallin, has joined Texas, Mississippi, and Louisiana in ordering state-run National Guard agencies to turn away same-sex spouses of service members, and redirect them to federal facilities. All four states have claimed that their states' prohibition on marriage equality doesn't allow them to offer complete benefits to LGBT service members.

The denial comes over two years after "Don't Ask Don't Tell" was repealed by congress, and three months after the Supreme Court struck down DOMA. Since then, many federal agencies have changed policies to comply with the ruling, treating same-sex married couples the same as any other couple.

The actions within these four states demonstrates how much further there is to go in eliminating anti-LGBT policies from our military and recognizing marriage equality across the United States. The interconnectedness of these issues show that eradicating homophobia and transphobia is a matter of taking on individual issues, but connecting them with one another.  

Ultimately, it is the soldiers who suffer from such orders by not having stable homes and families. For people who want to dedicate their lives to service to their state or country, it is a slap in the face.