VIDEO: Robin Weigert, Stacie Passon accept Outstanding Film - Limited Release for 'Concussion' at #GLAADAwards, presented by Emmy Rossum

Concussion director Stacie Passon and the film's star Robin Weigert accepted the award for Outstanding Film – Limited Release at Saturday's 25th Annual GLAAD Media Awards in New York at the legendary Waldorf Astoria. Shameless star Emmy Rossum took the stage to present the award.

Check out a video below:

"I want to thank GLAAD for its dedication to independent film. I think sometimes they call our independent films subversive or transgressive or niche; but we're not subversive, and we're not transgressive, and we're not niche and we're not hard. We're just us and we have to tell these stories," Passon said. "[...] We should get to tell our stories truthfully with ourselves as the protagonists."

"I think the important thing for everyone in this room and beyond this room is for everyone to keep telling stories that are true. Not popular, not even necessarily politically motivated but true to who each one of us is and out experience of life," Weigert said. "The complexities of relationships, the complexities of getting along and that's what excites an artist, and that's what excites an artistic community and that's what excites ultimately the world and changes the world."

Concussion centers on suburban housewife Abby (Robin Weigert) who, after suffering a concussion, is filled with a new idea of what she wants her life to be. Her marriage with her wife has grown stale and Abby becomes an escort in hopes that she will be able to feel real intimacy. When the two parts of her double life collide, Abby must examine her decisions and decide what she really wants.

George Takei received the Vito Russo Award. Global superstar Kylie Minogue and Grammy Award-winner Kacey Musgraves performed for the capacity crowd. Comedian Fortune Feimster hosted the event. Special guests included: Naomi Watts (Birdman); Laverne Cox, Laura Prepon, Natasha Lyonne, Samira Wiley, Dascha Polanco, Selenis Leyva, Yael Stone, Taryn Manning, Emma Myles, Alysia Reiner (Orange is the New Black); Swoosie Kurtz (Mike & Molly); Lee Tergesen (The Americans); pop star Boy George; Raúl Castillo, Frankie J. Álvarez (Looking); Tamron Hall (Today's Take); Candis Cayne (Elementary); country singer Chely Wright; out Grammy-winning country music songwriter Shane McAnally; New Orleans bounce performer Big Freedia; out NCAA basketball player Derrick Gordon; WWE Superstar Darren Young; Olympic speed skater Blake Skjellerup; MMA fighter Jessica Aguilar; transgender model Geena Rocero; GLAAD National Spokespersons Wilson Cruz and Omar Sharif, Jr., and GLAAD CEO & President Sarah Kate Ellis.

Additional awards were presented in Los Angeles on April 12 at the Beverly Hiltons Hotel, see the list of winners here.

The 25th Annual GLAAD Media Awards are presented nationally by Ketel One Vodka, Wells Fargo, and Hilton Worldwide. The New York City event is presented locally by Delta Airlines and Bud Light.

Follow GLAAD: Facebook | Twitter | Tumblr | Instagram | Donate to GLAAD