VIDEO: Naomi Watts Presents Outstanding Comedy Series Award to Orange Is the New Black at #glaadawards in NY

Netflix original series Orange Is the New Black accepted the award for Outstanding Comedy Series at the 25th Annual GLAAD Media Awards in New York on Saturday at the Waldorf Astoria. Check out the above photo of the cast with GLAAD President Sarah Kate Ellis! The award was presented by film and TV actress and producer Naomi Watts. Series stars Laura Prepon, Natasha Lyonne, Samira Wiley, Dascha Polanco, Selenis Leyva, Yael Stone, Emma Myles, Taryn Manning, Alysia Reiner and Stephen F. Kolzak Award recipient Laverne Cox accepted the award.

Check out a video of the cast acceptance below:

The hit Netflix original series Orange Is the New Black features one of the most diverse casts on television, which includes one of the most exciting transgender characters to appear in some time.  As the prison's resident hairdresser, Sophia is well-regarded by most of her fellow inmates, but faces the same challenges that many incarcerated transgender women face, including harassment and access to medical care.  What's more, the character is played by transgender actress and advocate Laverne Cox. Prepon and Lyonne both portray complex characters who happen to be lesbians. Prepon's Alex is in an on and off relationship with main character Piper (Taylor Schilling) whom she was previously involved with outside of the prison. Lyonne's character Nicky seems to develop real feelings for Morello (Stone) who refuses to give up on her engagement and continues to plan her wedding while in prison and at the same time sleeping with Nicky. Season two of the groundbreaking series will premiere on Netflix on June 6.

Also at the event, GLAAD's President Sarah Kate Ellis received two standing ovations after being introduced by LGBT icon David Mixner. Sarah Kate shared her vision for GLAAD, underscoring how important it is to protect all that has been accomplished. The organizations new initiatives include Global Voices, Southern Stories and Help Engage Youth, these programs are designed to amplify the voice of equality around the world.

George Takei received the Vito Russo Award. Global superstar Kylie Minogue and Grammy Award-winner Kacey Musgraves performed for the capacity crowd. Comedian Fortune Feimster hosted the event. Special guests included: Emmy Rossum (Shameless); Robin Weigert, Stacie Passon (Concussion); Swoosie Kurtz (Mike & Molly); Lee Tergesen (The Americans); pop star Boy George; Raúl Castillo, Frankie J. Álvarez (Looking); Tamron Hall (Today's Take); Candis Cayne (Elementary); country singer Chely Wright; out Grammy-winning country music songwriter Shane McAnally; New Orleans bounce performer Big Freedia; out NCAA basketball player Derrick Gordon; WWE Superstar Darren Young; Olympic speed skater Blake Skjellerup; MMA fighter Jessica Aguilar; transgender model Geena Rocero; GLAAD National Spokespersons Wilson Cruz and Omar Sharif, Jr., and GLAAD CEO & President Sarah Kate Ellis.

Additional awards were presented in Los Angeles on April 12 at the Beverly Hiltons Hotel, see the list of winners here.

The 25th Annual GLAAD Media Awards are presented nationally by Ketel One Vodka, Wells Fargo, and Hilton Worldwide. The New York City event is presented locally by Delta Airlines and Bud Light.

Follow GLAAD: Facebook | Twitter | Tumblr | Instagram | Donate to GLAAD