VIDEO: Matt Bomer Presents Outstanding Comedy Series to The New Normal, Outstanding TV Movie or Miniseries to American Horror Story: Asylum at #GLAADAwards

The New Normal creator Ryan Murphy, producer Dante Di Loreto and series stars Andrew Rannells, Justin Bartha, Georgia King and Jayson Blair were presented with the Outstanding Comedy Series award by Matt Bomer at the 24th Annual GLAAD Media Awards in Los Angeles on Saturday night. Murphy also accepted the GLAAD Media Award for Outstanding TV Movie or Mini-Series for his FX show American Horror Story: Asylum. Zap2it premiered the video and you can also check it out below:

Binary Data uxg439xlcy8

"Television has the unique capacity to bring subjects we may not be comfortable with or which may seem taboo directly into our living room on a week-to-week basis. When these topics are grounded in compassion, humor and understanding it can spark a conversation and not always, but sometimes, that conversation can dissolve ignorance," Bomer said. "In the same vein as Norman Lear before him, Ryan Murphy has taken hot button issues and started conversations in homes across the country."

"I've been making television for a long time and back in my first TV show around 1999, one of the first notes I ever got from an executive was 'Can you make this character a little less gay?' That doesn't happen anymore in our business," said Murphy. "The lowest testing scene in the pilot was the makeout session in bed between Bryan and David. I remember not being worried about it, but wondering what the executives would say and Bob and Jennifer both said to me 'Forget about it, it's a beautiful scene. It will change people's hearts and minds so keep it in.' and they have been such a champion."

Of his American Horror Story: Asylum win, he added, "I would like to dedicate that award tonight to Miss Sarah Paulson who is such a brilliant actress and gave the heroine of Lana Winters such heart and soul."

Former President Bill Clinton received the Advocate for Change Award.  Entertainment attorney Steve Warren received the Stephen F. Kolzak Award.  Actress Drew Barrymore hosted the event.  The capacity crowd enjoyed performances by Kelly Rowland and Glee's Darren Criss.  Guests include:  Leonardo DiCaprio (The GreatGatsby); Charlize Theron (Snow White and the Huntsman); Jennifer Lawrence (The Hunger Games); Harvey WeinsteinBetty White (Hot in Cleveland); brothers Chris Evans (The Avengers) & Scott Evans (BehavingBadly); Tobey Maguire (The Great Gatsby); Alex Pettyfer (The Butler); Elle Fanning (Ginger & Rosa); Logan Lerman, Johnny Simmons, Mae WhitmanStephen Chbosky (The Perks of Being a Wallflower); Beth Ditto (Gossip); Kirsten Dunst (On the Road); Naya RiveraAlex Newell (Glee); Matt Bomer (White Collar); Sara Ramirez, Ellen Pompeo (Grey's Anatomy); Ryan Murphy (GleeThe New NormalAmerican Horror Story); Andrew RannellsJustin BarthaGeorgia KingJayson Blair (The New Normal); Greg GarciaCloris LeachmanShannon WoodwardHarvey Guillen (Raising Hope); Craig Zadan (Smash); Ted Danson (CSI) and Mary Steenburgen (30 Rock); Lana Parrilla (Once Upon a Time); Eric DaneRebecca Gayheart (G.B.F.); Ioan Guffudd and Alice Evans (The Vampire Diaries); Ali Larter (Legends) and Hayes MacArthur (Go On); Barrett Foa (NCIS: Los Angeles); Sara Gilbert (The Talk) and musician Linda PerryMolly Shannon (Enlightened); Kat Graham (The Vampire Diaries); Freddie Smith (Days of Our Lives); Trevor Donovan (90210); Perez HiltonTeri PoloSherri Saum, Peter Paige (The Fosters);  Thomas Roberts (MSNBC); author and advocate Chaz BonoKacy BoccuminiCori McGinn (The Real L Word); Avan Jogia (Twisted); Maria Menounos (Extra);Jane EspensonBrad Bell (Husbands); Crystal ChappellJoanna JohnsonLinsey Godfrey (The Bold and the Beautiful); Melody Thomas Scott (The Young and the Restless); Brad Goreski (It's a Brad, Brad World); Hal Sparks (Queer as Folk); Khristianne Uy (The Taste); LGBT advocates Zach Wahls, Jennifer Tyrrell,Shane Bitney Crone (Bridegroom); GLAAD National Spokespersons, Wilson Cruz and Omar Sharif, Jr., and more.

Photos and videos are available here.

Additional awards were presented in New York on March 16.  The final awards will be presented in San Francisco on May 11 at the Hilton San Francisco - Union Square where Adam Lambert will receive the Davidson/Valentini Award and the San Francisco Giants will receive the Corporate Leader Award.

The 24th Annual GLAAD Media Awards were presented nationally by Ketel One and Wells Fargo, and presented locally in Los Angeles by Delta Air Lines.

Follow GLAAD: Facebook | Twitter | Tumblr | Instagram | Donate to GLAAD