VIDEO: I Am Jazz, I Am Cait tie for the #glaadawards in Outstanding Reality Program

At Saturday's 27th Annual GLAAD Media Awards at the Beverly Hilton Hotel in Los Angeles, docuseries I Am Jazz and I Am Cait tied to take home the award for Outstanding Reality Program. Stars Jazz Jennings and Caitlyn Jenner took the stage to accept their awards, presented by NeNe Leakes and Derek Hough, and spoke about the importance of transgender representation.

Check out the video below! Don't miss the GLAAD Media Awards exclusive one-hour special premiering on Logo this Monday, April 4 at 10pm ET/PT.


I Am Cait premiered on E! in July, 2015. The series, currently airing its second season, documents Jenner’s life after her transition. The series speaks to Jenner’s relationship with her friends and family, as well as what it means to be a transgender woman in the spotlight including highlighting the voices of several notable trans women.

The docuseries I Am Jazz also premiered in July 2015 (TLC) and gives insight in to a different trans experience, that of a teenage girl. The series follows 15-year-old Jazz Jennings, known as one of the youngest transgender advocates, as she navigates her life at home and entering high school. Renewed for a second season, I Am Jazz promotes themes of acceptance among the families of transgender youth, and explores the experience of growing up trans.

Previous GLAAD Media Award recipients for Outstanding Reality Program include R&B Divas: Atlanta, Big Freedia: Queen of Bounce, The Amazing Race, Dancing with the Stars, and Project Runway.

Nick Jonas presented the Vanguard Award to Demi Lovato. Taylor Swift presented the Stephen F. Kolzak Award to Ruby Rose. Comedian Ross Mathews hosted the event. Guests included: Patricia Arquette (Boyhood); Queen Latifah (Bessie); Lilly Wachowski (Sense8); Caitlyn Jenner, Jenny Boylan, Candis Cayne, Zackary Drucker, Ella Giselle, Chandi Moore (I Am Cait); Jazz Jennings and her family (I Am Jazz); recording artist Troye Sivan; Jill Soloway, Judith Light, Amy Landecker, Alexandra Billings, Rhys Ernst, Trace LysetteOur Lady J, Silas Howard, Rain Valdez (Transparent); Peter Paige, Teri Polo, Sherri Saum (The Fosters); Elliot Fletcher, Michael J. Willett (Faking It); Daniel Franzese (Looking); Scott Turner Schofield (The Bold and The Beautiful); Tig Notaro (Tig);  Jaime Camil (Jane The Virgin); Diego Boneta, Lea Michele, Keke Palmer (Scream Queens); Lena Waithe, Kelvin Yu (Master of None); Joel McKinnon Miller (Brooklyn Nine-Nine); Kat Graham (The Vampire Diaries); Zendaya (K.C. Undercover); Matthew Daddario, Harry Shum Jr. (Shadowhunters); Wilson Cruz (Red Band Society); Barrett Foa (NCIS: Los Angeles); Garcelle Beauvais (Grimm); Michael Harney (Orange Is the New Black); Sophie Ward (Heartbeat); Adrian Clemons, Kentrell Collins, Kareem Davis, Jerel Maddox, Tim Smith (The Prancing Elites Project); Bambiana, Bionka, LA, Nya, Xristina (Transcendent); Derek Hough (Dancing with the Stars); NeNe Leakes (Fashion Police); Paula Abdul (So You Think You Can Dance); TV personality Carson Kressley; stylist Brad Goreski; Gary Janetti (Vicious); Mercedes Soler (Realidades en Contexto); Robert Levine, Jonathan Steinberg (Black Sails); Sanaa Hamri (Empire); John Gidding (Secret Guide to Fabulous); Stephen Guarino (Dr. Ken); Jonathan Bennett, Adam Senn, Brent Antonello, James LaRosa (Hit the Floor); fashion designer August Getty; celebrity blogger Perez Hilton; out NFL player Michael Sam; former WNBA player and advocate Chamique Holdsclaw; recording artist Neil Amin-Smith; Jen Richards, Angelica Ross (Her Story); Carmen Carrera (Couples Therapy); model and advocate Geena Rocero; actor and trans advocate Nicole Maines; GLAAD President & CEO Sarah Kate Ellis.

Additional awards will be presented at the GLAAD Media Awards in New York City at the historic Waldorf Astoria on Saturday, May 14. Tickets are available now at To receive the latest updates on the GLAAD Media Awards, follow @glaad on Twitter and use the hashtag #glaadawards. The 27th Annual GLAAD Media Awards, presented by Delta Air Lines, Hilton, Ketel One Vodka, and Wells Fargo.

The GLAAD Media Awards recognize and honor media for their fair, accurate and inclusive representations of the lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender (LGBT) community and the issues that affect their lives.  They also fund GLAAD's work to amplify stories from the LGBT community that build support for equality and acceptance.