VIDEO: Cast of 'How to Get Away with Murder' takes Outstanding Drama Series at #glaadawards in LA

ABC's freshman hit show How to Get Away with Murder accepted the award for Outstanding Drama Series at the 26th Annual GLAAD Media Awards in Los Angeles Saturday night at the iconic Beverly Hilton. The award was presented by Murray Bartlett and Daniel Franzese from HBO's Looking. Series creator and showrunner Peter Nowalk took the stage to receive the prize along with cast members Viola Davis, Jack Falahee, Aja Naomi King and Matt McGorry. Check out the video below.

Nowalk commented on the support he has received for the show's LGBT storylines. "That speaks a lot to what GLAAD has done, and what so many other writers have done before me, like Norman Leer, and Ellen [Degeneres], and this lady who taught me everything I know, Shonda Rhimes."

How to Get Away with Murder centers on renowned and merciless prosecutor Annalise Keating (Viola Davis) and the five students she takes under her wing at a prestigious law firm as they all become involved in a murder plot. The show is yet another product of the Shondaland machine (Shonda Rhimes serves as executive producer), and has been praised for the diversity of the cast and its bold portrayal of LGBT issues. Connor Walsh (Falahee) is one of the students involved in the murder plot and he becomes involved with hacker Oliver Hampton (Conrad Ricamora), initially using him for information on a case, and in the season finale the two officially become a couple.

As part of this step forward in their relationship, the two decide to get tested together and Oliver tests positive for HIV. He and Eddie on HBO's Looking (Franzese) are the only HIV-positive characters currently on primetime scripted television. GLAAD recently partnered with the Elizabeth Taylor AIDS Foundation and AIDS United to release a guide for talking about HIV and AIDS in the media.

Ellen DeGeneres presented the Vanguard Award to Kerry Washington. Channing Tatum presented the Stephen F. Kolzak Award to director Roland Emmerich. Comedian Tig Notaro hosted the event. Guests included: Zoe Saldana (Guardians of the Galaxy); Patricia Arquette (CSI: Cyber); TV producer Shonda Rhimes; Viola Davis, Jack Falahee, Matt McGorry, Aja Naomi King, Peter Nowalk (How to Get Away with Murder); Portia de Rossi (Scandal); Graham Moore (The Imitation Game); Pauley Perrette (NCIS); Jill Soloway, Amy Landecker, Jay Duplass, Alexandra Billings, Rhys Ernst, Kiersey Clemons, Michaela Watkins, Alison Sudol, Clementine Creevy, Brett Parasol (Transparent); Michael Harney, Samira Wiley, Nick Sandow, Alysia Reiner (Orange is the New Black); Andrew Rannells (Girls); Murray Bartlett, Daniel Franzese (Looking); Ron Perlman (Stonewall); Jordan Gavaris (Orphan Black); Against Me! lead singer Laura Jane Grace; Michael Mosley, Kevin Daniels, Kevin Bigley (Sirens); Peter Paige, Bradley Bredeweg, Gavin MacIntosh, Hayden Byerly (The Fosters); Yara Martinez (Jane the Virgin); Serayah McNeill (Empire); Alex Newell (Glee); Gregg Sulkin, Rita Volk, Michael J. Willett, Carter Covington (Faking It); Barrett Foa (NCIS: Los Angeles); Jessica St. Clair, Lennon Parham (Playing House); Wilson Cruz (Red Band Society); stylist Brad Goreski; Gary Janetti (Vicious); Guy Wilson, Freddie Smith, Christopher Sean (Days of Our Lives); musician Our Lady J; model Nats Getty; Hannah Hart (My Drunk Kitchen); DJs Sam Sparro, Kim Anh, Derek Monteiro;  GLAAD Board member Meghan McCain; GLAAD National Spokesperson Omar Sharif, Jr. and GLAAD President & CEO Sarah Kate Ellis.

Visit for a complete list of award recipients announced on Saturday night.

Award recipients in the remaining categories will be announced in New York City on May 9 at the Waldorf Astoria, tickets are available now.

The 26th Annual GLAAD Media Awards are presented by Delta Air Lines, Hilton, Ketel One Vodka, and Wells Fargo; and Official Presenting Partners Amazon and Bud Light.

Follow GLAAD: Facebook | Twitter | Tumblr | Instagram | Donate to GLAAD