VIDEO: Amazon's 'Transparent' receives award for Outstanding Comedy Award at the #glaadawards

The cast of the Amazon original series Transparent took home the award for Outstanding Comedy Series at the 26th Annual GLAAD Media Awards in Los Angeles at the Beverly Hilton on Saturday. Cast members Jay Duplass, Amy Landecker, Alexandra Billings, Kiersey Clemons, Alison Sudol, Michaela Watkins, co-producer Rhys Ernst, and creator Jill Soloway accepted the award from presenter and Girls star Andrew Rannells and musician Laura Jane Grace of Against Me! 

View the acceptance speech below:

One of the first original series from online content provider Amazon, Transparent tells the story of Maura (Jeffrey Tambor), a trans woman coming out to her family late in life. The series has picked up a slew of awards since its premiere, including Golden Globe wins for Best TV Comedy or Musical and for Lead Actor – TV Comedy  for Tambor. The show includes several other lesbian, bisexual, and transgender characters and features perfomances by trans actors Alexandra Billings and Ian Harvie, who appear in recurring roles.

Solloway thanked the transgender people who contributed to Transparent, starting with GLAAD National Board of Directors Co-Chair, Jenny Boylan, "Some people think that her voice is Maura's voice. I think that when Maura says, 'I'd like a festive cocktail,' that's Jenny Boylan."

"This show felt different because we were trying to make the world a safe place for my Moppa to walk out of her apartment building," Solloway said of Transparent. "Moreso than making TV, we were trying to make the world safe for my Moppa. This award is dedicated to her, but especially to GLAAD. GLAAD makes the world safe for people to walk out of their front doors." 

As GLAAD's TV and film reports show, trans representation in the media have remained incredibly rare until recent years with a few prominent supporting characters beginning to appear like Laverne Cox's Sophia on Orange is the New Black, Alex Newell's Unique on Glee, and Jordan Todosey's Adam on Degrassi. Transparent finally puts trans stories at the forefront and the show has the power to put a human face to issues affecting the trans community and bridge the gap to acceptance.

Ellen DeGeneres presented the Vanguard Award to Kerry Washington. Channing Tatum presented the Stephen F. Kolzak Award to director Roland Emmerich. Comedian Tig Notaro hosted the event. Guests included: Zoe Saldana (Guardians of the Galaxy); Patricia Arquette (CSI: Cyber); TV producer Shonda Rhimes; Viola Davis, Jack Falahee, Matt McGorry, Aja Naomi King, Peter Nowalk (How to Get Away with Murder); Portia de Rossi (Scandal); Graham Moore (The Imitation Game); Pauley Perrette (NCIS); Jill Soloway, Amy Landecker, Jay Duplass, Alexandra Billings, Rhys Ernst, Kiersey Clemons, Michaela Watkins, Alison Sudol, Clementine Creevy, Brett Parasol (Transparent); Michael Harney, Samira Wiley, Nick Sandow, Alysia Reiner (Orange is the New Black); Andrew Rannells (Girls); Murray Bartlett, Daniel Franzese (Looking); Ron Perlman (Stonewall); Jordan Gavaris (Orphan Black); Against Me! lead singer Laura Jane Grace; Michael Mosley, Kevin Daniels, Kevin Bigley (Sirens); Peter Paige, Bradley Bredeweg, Gavin MacIntosh, Hayden Byerly (The Fosters); Yara Martinez (Jane the Virgin); Serayah McNeill (Empire); Alex Newell (Glee); Gregg Sulkin, Rita Volk, Michael J. Willett, Carter Covington (Faking It); Barrett Foa (NCIS: Los Angeles); Jessica St. Clair, Lennon Parham (Playing House); Wilson Cruz (Red Band Society); stylist Brad Goreski; Gary Janetti (Vicious); Guy Wilson, Freddie Smith, Christopher Sean (Days of Our Lives); musician Our Lady J; model Nats Getty; Hannah Hart (My Drunk Kitchen); DJs Sam Sparro, Kim Anh, Derek Monteiro;  GLAAD Board member Meghan McCain; GLAAD National Spokesperson Omar Sharif, Jr. and GLAAD President & CEO Sarah Kate Ellis.

Visit for a complete list of award recipients announced on Saturday night.

Award recipients in the remaining categories will be announced in New York City on May 9 at the Waldorf Astoria. Tickets are available now.

The 26th Annual GLAAD Media Awards are presented by Delta Air Lines, Hilton, Ketel One Vodka, and Wells Fargo; and Official Presenting Partners Amazon and Bud Light.

Follow GLAAD: Facebook | Twitter | Tumblr | Instagram | Donate to GLAAD