VIDEO: ABC Family's 'The Fosters' receives Outstanding Drama Series award at #GLAADAwards

ABC Family's The Fosters accepted the award for Outstanding Drama Series at the 25th Annual GLAAD Media Awards in Los Angeles on Saturday at the Beverly Hilton Hotel, the award was presented by The Big Bang Theory star Johnny Galecki. Check out the video of show creators Peter Paige and Bradley Bredeweg accepting below, joined on stage by series stars Sherri Saum and Teri Polo and executive producers Joanna Johnson and Greg Gugliotta.

"This award means so much to all of us because we really believe that entertainment has the power to change the world. We've seen it happen time and time again. We reach people at their most vulnerable, sitting at home […] and week after week we get to tell stories about who we are and how we love and that's what makes change," Paige said.

The Fosters centers around police officer Stef (Teri Polo) and her wife, school Vice Principal Lena (Sherri Saum), as they raise their diverse family.  This includes Stef’s biological son from her previous marriage, the two children Lena and Stef have adopted together, and the two children they want to adopt. The series also introduced transgender teen Cole as one of the kids staying at the group home for girls that main character Callie finds herself in after running away from her foster family.

Special guests included:  Rita Moreno who presented the Vanguard Award to Jennifer Lopez. Ellen Page who presented the Stephen F. Kolzak Award to Laverne Cox. Norman Lear received the Pioneer Award. Manny de Guerre, LGBT advocate from Russia, received the International Advocate for Change Award. Other guests included:  Lupita Nyong'o (12 Years a Slave); Johnny Galecki (The Big Bang Theory); Naomi Campbell (The Face); Tatiana Maslany, Jordan Gavaris (Orphan Black); Tom Cullen (Downton Abbey); Eric Dane, Rebecca Gayheart; Natasha Henstridge (The Secret Circle); James Frain (Intruders); Alex Newell (Glee); Kat Graham (The Vampire Diaries); Ross Mathews (Hello Ross); Maria Menounos (Chasing Maria Menounos); Sherri Saum, Teri Polo, Peter Paige, Bradley Bredeweg (The Fosters); Lucas Neff (Raising Hope); Meghan McCain (Take Part Live); singer Debby Boone; Caitlin Stasey (Please Like Me); Luke Newberry (In the Flesh); author and transgender advocate Chaz Bono; Shane Bitney Crone, Linda Bloodworth-Thomason (Bridegroom); Katherine Fairfax Wright, Malika Zouhali-Worrall, John "Longjones" Abdallah Wambere (Call Me Kuchu); Charlie Condou (Coronation Street); Sophie Ward (Jane Eyre); Pratibha Parmar (Nina's Heavenly Delights); Jill Soloway, Amy Landecker, Ian Harvie (Transparent); Kate Mansi, Guy Wilson (Days of Our Lives); trans advocates Calpernia Addams, Andrea James; Husbands creators Brad Bell, Jane Espenson; comedian Suzanne Westenhoefer; trans model Carmen Carrera; trans singer Our Lady J; GLAAD National Spokespersons, Wilson Cruz and Omar Sharif, Jr., and GLAAD CEO & President Sarah Kate Ellis.  DJ Tracy Young was the guest DJ at the after-party.

Photos and videos are available here.

Additional awards will be presented in New York City on May 3 at the Waldorf Astoria, tickets are available now.

The 25th Annual GLAAD Media Awards are presented nationally by Ketel One Vodka, Wells Fargo, and Hilton Worldwide. The Los Angeles event is presented locally by Delta Air Lines and Bud Light.

Follow GLAAD: Facebook | Twitter | Tumblr | Instagram | Donate to GLAAD