SCOTUS brings marriage equality to UT, OK, VA, WI, and IN

Today, the US Supreme Court denied hearings for all marriage equality cases before it. In an announcement released this morning, the Court stated that it would not consider cases in Utah, Oklahoma, Virginia, Wisconsin, and Indiana.

These five states will be granted marriage equality immediately. Additionally, all eleven states in the fourth, seventh, and tenth circuits will now let the appeals court decision stand in favor of marriage equality. However, this move continues to create an uneven patchwork of marriage recognition across the United States.

“The momentum continues,” said GLAAD President & CEO Sarah Kate Ellis. “For thousands of loving and committed couples, justice has finally come; still, countless others continue to wait. Until marriage equality is the law of the land, it remains critical that Americans hear the stories of gay and lesbian couples at the heart of today’s decision.”