‘Queen Sugar’ and Dee Rees lead LGBTQ-inclusive NAACP Image Awards nominations

The 49th NAACP Image Awards, which celebrate the accomplishments of people of color in the fields of television, music, literature, and film, announced their nominees on Monday and several LGBTQ and LGBTQ-inclusive honorees lead the way. From Dee Rees and Samira Wiley, to Survivor’s Remorse and Whose Streets?, the NAACP Image Awards nominated an exceptional group of LGBTQ talent and content this year.

On the television side, out actors Titus Burgess, Jussie Smollett, and Samira Wiley all received nominations for playing LGBTQ characters on their respective shows. Burgess received a nomination Outstanding Supporting Actor in a Comedy Series for playing Titus Andromedon on Netflix’s Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt. Smollett is nominated for Outstanding Supporting Actor in a Drama Series for playing Jamal on FOX’s Empire. And Wiley is nominated for Best Supporting Actress in a Drama Series for her role as Moira on Hulu’s The Handmaid’s Tale.

LGBTQ-inclusive nominees for television included Netflix’s Dear White People, and Starz’s (unfortunately, canceled) Survivor’s Remorse for Outstanding Comedy Series; as well as OWN’s Queen Sugar and NBC’s This is Us for Outstanding Drama Series. Disney Junior’s Doc McStuffins was nominated for Outstanding Children’s Program, NBC’s Saturday Night Live received a nomination for Outstanding Comedy Series, and out writer/director Justin Simien was nominated for both Outstanding Writing for a Comedy Series and Outstanding Directing for Dear White People.

Master of None’s Emmy Award-winning “Thanksgiving” episode received a nomination for Outstanding Writing in a Comedy Series for Aziz Ansari, although the episode was highly influenced by the life of the episode's co-writer Lena Waithe. The pair won an Emmy for the episode earlier this year.

On the film side, lesbian filmmaker Dee Rees received a nomination both for Outstanding Writing in a Motion Picture and Outstanding Directing in a Motion Picture for the Netflix film Mudbound.

Professor Marston and The Wonder Women, written and directed by out filmmaker Angela Robinson, was nominated for Outstanding Independent Motion Picture. And queer actress Amandla Stenberg was nominated for Outstanding Actress in a Motion Picture for her lead role in Everything, Everything.

Meanwhile, documentary Whose Streets? received a nomination for Outstanding Documentary (Film).

The NAACP Image Awards, will again be hosted by "Black-ish" star Anthony Anderson and will air on January 15th, 2018, at 9/8c on TV One.