The New Normal, The Perks of Being a Wallflower among GLAAD Media Award Recipients in Los Angeles

Harvey Weinstein and Jennifer Lawrence presented former President Bill Clinton with the Advocate for Change Award tonight at the 24th Annual GLAAD Media Awards in Los Angeles, presented nationally by Ketel One Vodka and Wells Fargo and locally by Delta Air Lines.

Photos and video will be posted to in coming days.

Leonardo DiCaprio and Charlize Theron presented the Stephen F. Kolzak Award to entertainment lawyer Steve Warren. Warren, a graduate of Dartmouth College and Harvard Law School, served as the first out gay man on the Board of Trustees for the Center for Early Education and currently serves as the first out gay man on the Board of Trustees at the Archer School for Girls. Warren joined GLAAD's Board of Directors in 2010, and currently serves on the Executive Committee.

Following is a complete list of GLAAD Media Award recipients announced Saturday in Los Angeles:

  • Advocate for Change Award:  Bill Clinton
  • Stephen F. Kolzak Award:  Steve Warren
  • Outstanding Film - Wide Release:  The Perks of Being a Wallflower (Summit Entertainment)
  • Outstanding Comedy Series:  The New Normal (NBC)
  • Outstanding Individual Episode:  "Don’t Ask, Don't Tell Me What to Do" Raising Hope (Fox)
  • Outstanding TV Movie or Mini-Series:  American Horror Story: Asylum (FX)
  • Outstanding Daily Drama:  Days of Our Lives (NBC)
  • Outstanding Talk Show Episode:  "At Home with Neil Patrick Harris, His Fiancé David Burtka, & Their Twins" Oprah's Next Chapter (OWN)
  • Outstanding Los Angeles Theater:  The Children by Michael Elyanow

Spanish Language

  • Outstanding Daytime Talk Show Episode:  "Confirma su identidad como mujer" Showbiz (CNN en Español)
  • Outstanding TV Journalism – Newsmagazine:  TIE: "Los transexuales buscan su identidad en medio de ignorancia y prejuicios" Encuentro (CNN en Español) and "La vida en rosa" Aquí y Ahora (Univision)
  • Outstanding Newspaper Article:  "Gays y padres excelentes" by Pilar Marrero (La Opinión)

Former President Bill Clinton received the Advocate for Change Award.  Entertainment attorney Steve Warren received the Stephen F. Kolzak Award.  Actress Drew Barrymore hosted the event.  The capacity crowd enjoyed performances by Kelly Rowland and Glee's Darren Criss.  Guests include:  Leonardo DiCaprio (The GreatGatsby); Charlize Theron (Snow White and the Huntsman); Jennifer Lawrence (The Hunger Games); Harvey WeinsteinBetty White (Hot in Cleveland); brothers Chris Evans (The Avengers) & Scott Evans (BehavingBadly); Tobey Maguire (The Great Gatsby); Alex Pettyfer (The Butler); Elle Fanning (Ginger & Rosa); Logan Lerman, Johnny Simmons, Mae WhitmanStephen Chbosky (The Perks of Being a Wallflower); Beth Ditto (Gossip); Kirsten Dunst (On the Road); Naya RiveraAlex Newell (Glee); Matt Bomer (White Collar); Sara Ramirez, Ellen Pompeo (Grey's Anatomy); Ryan Murphy (GleeThe New NormalAmerican Horror Story); Andrew RannellsJustin BarthaGeorgia KingJayson Blair (The New Normal); Greg GarciaCloris LeachmanShannon WoodwardHarvey Guillen (Raising Hope); Craig Zadan (Smash); Ted Danson (CSI) and Mary Steenburgen (30 Rock); Lana Parrilla (Once Upon a Time); Eric DaneRebecca Gayheart (G.B.F.); Ioan Guffudd and Alice Evans (The Vampire Diaries); Ali Larter (Legends) and Hayes MacArthur (Go On); Barrett Foa (NCIS: Los Angeles); Sara Gilbert (The Talk) and musician Linda PerryMolly Shannon (Enlightened); Kat Graham (The Vampire Diaries); Freddie Smith (Days of Our Lives); Trevor Donovan (90210); Perez HiltonTeri PoloSherri Saum, Peter Paige (The Fosters);  Thomas Roberts (MSNBC); author and advocate Chaz BonoKacy BoccuminiCori McGinn (The Real L Word); Avan Jogia (Twisted); Maria Menounos (Extra);Jane EspensonBrad Bell (Husbands); Crystal ChappellJoanna JohnsonLinsey Godfrey (The Bold and the Beautiful); Melody Thomas Scott (The Young and the Restless); Brad Goreski (It's a Brad, Brad World); Hal Sparks (Queer as Folk); Khristianne Uy (The Taste); LGBT advocates Zach Wahls, Jennifer Tyrrell,Shane Bitney Crone (Bridegroom); GLAAD National Spokespersons, Wilson Cruz and Omar Sharif, Jr., and more.

Photos and videos of the event are available here.

Additional awards were presented in New York on March 16.  The final awards will be presented in San Francisco on May 11 at the Hilton San Francisco - Union Square where Adam Lambert will receive the Davidson/Valentini Award and the San Francisco Giants will receive the Corporate Leader Award.

The GLAAD Media Awards recognize and honor media for their fair, accurate and inclusive representations of the lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender community and the issues that affect their lives. GLAAD Media Award nominees were published, released or broadcast between January 1, 2012 and December 31, 2012. 

To receive the latest updates on the GLAAD Media Awards, follow @glaad on Twitter and use the hashtag #glaadawards.