Modern Family Wins Big at 63rd Annual Emmy Awards

This year, ABC’s Modern Family won big at the 63rd annual Emmy Awards.  The inclusive sitcom took home five awards including Outstanding Comedy Series, Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Comedy Series (Julie Bowen, Claire Dunphy), Outstanding Supporting Actor in a Comedy Series (Ty Burell, Phil Dunphy), Outstanding Writing for a Comedy Series (Steven Levitan and Jeffrey Richman), and Outstanding Directing for a Comedy Series (Michael Alan Spiller).

They weren’t the only LGBT-inclusive winner this year though.  Earlier this month, LGBT fave Glee walked off with the awards for Outstanding Casting for a Comedy Series and Outstanding Guest Actress in a Comedy Series (Gwyneth Paltrow). The consistently LGBT-inclusive CBS show The Amazing Race took home the award for Outstanding Reality-Competition Program after. PBS’ British import Downton Abbey, which includes gay footman Thomas among its large cast of characters, was another of the night’s big winners. Among the awards they took home were Outstanding Miniseries or Movie and Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Miniseries or Movie (Maggie Smith). Other LGBT- inclusive shows and programs that won include The Good Wife, Grey’s Anatomy, Mad Men, Game of Thrones, The 64th Annual Tony Awards, Cinema Verite, and Lady GaGa Presents the Monster Ball Tour: At Madison Square Garden.

Jane Lynch, who won the Emmy for Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Comedy Series last year, received another nomination this year for her role as Sue Sylvester on Glee.  Although she didn’t win a second time, she scored big with the crowd as the ceremony’s host.  As the show’s executive producer Mark Burnett said of her after she was announced as host, “[her] incredible comedic timing, charisma, talent, and energy leaps off the screen and stage.” By her performance last night, she met those high expectations, as you can see below in her opening number:

Binary Data lu5XSZng_HE

GLAAD congratulates all of this year’s LGBT-inclusive 63rd Annual Emmy Award nominees and winners, as well as all LGBT industry professionals and allies whose work continues to bring light to the community across all of television.