Modern Family, Beginners Among GLAAD Media Award Recipients in Los Angeles

Cher and Congresswoman Mary Bono Mack presented the Stephen F. Kolzak Award to advocate and film and television star Chaz Bono tonight at the 23rd Annual GLAAD Media Awards in Los Angeles, presented nationally by Ketel One and Wells Fargo, and presented locally by Delta Air Lines. The Stephen F. Kolzak Award is presented to an openly LGBT media professional who has made a significant difference in promoting equality.

Photos and video will be posted to in coming days.

Academy Award-winning actor Benicio del Toro presented the Vanguard Award to film star Josh Hutcherson.  Hutcherson is a co-founder of LGBT ally organization Straight But Not Narrow and has consistently spoken out about the importance of LGBT equality. The 19-year-old  is the youngest ever recipient of the Vanguard Award, which is presented to media professionals who, through their work, have increased the visibility and understanding of the LGBT community.

Following is a complete list of GLAAD Media Award recipients announced Saturday in Los Angeles.

  • Stephen F. Kolzak Award:  Chaz Bono
  • Vanguard Award:  Josh Hutcherson
  • Outstanding Film - Wide Release: Beginners (Focus Features)
  • Outstanding Documentary: Becoming Chaz (OWN: Oprah Winfrey Network)
  • Outstanding Comedy Series: Modern Family (ABC)
  • Outstanding Individual Episode: TIE: "Prom" Drop Dead Diva (Lifetime) and "Beards" Hot in Cleveland (TV Land)

Ellen DeGeneres opened the event. Special guests included Betty White, Wendie Malick, Jane Leeves (Hot in Cleveland); Jesse Tyler Ferguson (Modern Family); Max Adler, Grant Gustin (Glee); Joshua Jackson (Fringe); Mark Deklin, Miriam Shor (GCB); Kim Wayans (Pariah); Molly Shannon (Casa de mi Padre); LGBT advocate and writer Perez Hilton; singer and Vampire Diaries star Kat Graham; Trevor Donovan (90210); Brooke Elliott, Josh Berman (Drop Dead Diva); Gilles Marini (Switched at Birth); Guillermo Diaz (Scandal); Milla Jovovich (Faces in the Crowd); Ali Larter (The Asset); Travis Wall (All the Right Moves); Fenton Bailey, Randy Barbato (Becoming Chaz); decorated Air Force veteran Lt. Col Victor Fehrenbach and more.

Photos and video of the event will be posted soon at

The 23rd Annual GLAAD Media Awards series will continue in San Francisco on June 2, 2012. For a complete list of nominees, special guests, and ticket information, click here.

The GLAAD Media Awards recognize and honor media for their fair, accurate and inclusive representations of the LGBT community and the issues that affect their lives.