Kacey Musgraves' Upcoming Paramount+ Film Features Queer Stars Princess Nokia, Megan Stalter and 'Drag Race' Winner Symone

Six-time Grammy winning singer and songwriter (and fierce LGBTQ ally) Kacey Musgraves is back with new music! She just dropped the track "star-crossed," the first release from her her highly anticipated fourth studio album of the same name out September 10. Musgraves is also releasing a corresponding film called "star-crossed," which will premiere on Paramount+ the same day as the album release. In the the trailer for the film that just dropped, you can find appearances from queer talent including Princess Nokia, Megan Stalter and Season 13 winner of RuPaul's Drag Race, Symone.  Eugene Levy from the GLAAD Award-winning Schitt's Creek also makes a cameo!

Musgraves has been a long-time ally and vocal supporter of the LGBTQ community. In 2014, she became the first country artist to perform at the GLAAD Media Awards, performing the queer anthem "Follow Your Arrow." She has also dedicated another one of her songs, “Rainbow," to the LGBTQ community many times in the past.

Seeing Drag Race winner Symone appear in the trailer for "star-crossed" makes sense, as Musgraves has been a long-time fan of RuPaul's Drag Race. In 2018, she appeared as a guest judge on RuPaul’s Drag Race All Stars.

In 2019, Musgraves partnered with GLAAD to raise money for our work to accelerate acceptance for the LGBTQ community and honor the anti-bullying campaign, Spirit Day, by donating two VIP seats and a meet-and-greet experience to her sold-out concert at Radio City Music Hall in NYC.

Earlier this year, she also used her platform on social media to speak against and to draw attention to the anti-LGBTQ bills being proposed in her home state of Texas.

star-crossed, the album, has found Musgraves collaborating once again with co-producers and writers, Ian Fitchuk and Daniel Tashian, and was recorded in Nashville, TN earlier this year in just under 3 weeks. The 15-song collection, structured as a modern-day tragedy in three acts, tells an extremely personal journey of heartache and healing and displays Musgraves continued growth as one of the finest singer-songwriters of our time. Pre-order the album here.

star-crossed : the film, takes the music from the studio to the screen with gorgeous visuals and a sense of heightened reality envisioned by Musgraves and Zeinali and shot by Academy Award-nominated cinematographer Matthew Libatique (A Star Is Born, Black Swan). “We wanted it to feel cinematic and epic without compromising the heart and the emotion,” Zeinali says, “to feel fantastical and heightened and tell her story through the lens of art and fashion.” The 50-minute movie was filmed over a 10 day shoot in Los Angeles and features cameos from Emmy Award-winner Eugene Levy, Victoria Pedretti (Once Upon a Time in Hollywood, You), singer-songwriter Princess Nokia, Symone (RuPaul’s Drag Race winner) and comedian Megan Stalter. The global premiere of Kacey Musgraves’ star-crossed : the film will exclusively debut on Paramount+ in the US, Latin America, Australia, the Nordics and Canada beginning on Friday, September 10th. Fans outside of these markets can watch on MTV across its worldwide network of channels in nearly 180 regions. star-crossed : the film is presented by Interscope Films and is an Anonymous Content Production in association with UMG Nashville, Sandbox Entertainment and Golden Girl Productions.

star-crossed track listing:

  1. star-crossed
  2. good wife
  3. cherry blossom
  4. simple times
  5. if this was a movie..
  6. justified
  7. angel
  8. breadwinner
  9. camera roll
  10. easier said
  11. hookup scene
  12. keep lookin’ up
  13. what doesn’t kill me
  14. there is a light
  15. gracias a la vida