Harvey Weinstein to present Special Recognition Award to Katy Butler at GLAAD Media Awards in New York #glaadawards

Weinstein Company Co-Chairman and outspoken anti-bullying advocate Harvey Weinstein will present a Special Recognition Award to high school student Katy Butler at the 23rd Annual GLAAD Media Awards on March 24.

Seventeen-year-old Butler launched a Change.org campaign last month to advocate that the 'R' rating of the upcoming documentary Bully be changed to 'PG-13.'

Last week, Butler delivered more than 200,000 signatures to the Motion Picture Association of America's (MPAA) Los Angeles office. Today, the Change.org action counts nearly 300,000 signatures. Butler, a high school student from Michigan, came out in middle school and experienced bullying. She has since garnered the attention of many well-known public figures including Justin Bieber, Ellen DeGeneres, Johnny Depp and Meryl Streep. Representative Mike Honda of California also issued a letter to the MPAA in support of the rating change, which was signed by 20 additional Members of Congress. The Weinstein Company has set up a Resource Guide for all fans who want to stay informed and support the movement against bullying: http://on.fb.me/yMtEDI.

“The MPAA made a mistake in restricting this film to adult audiences. Everyone -- young and old alike -- needs to see this film and the devastating impact that bullying can have on today’s young people,” said GLAAD spokesperson, Herndon Graddick. “Katy has bravely used her voice to take a stand and has inspired countless Americans, including so many members of Congress and public figures, to show their support for the safety of all our children.”

Film, television, and theater producers Craig Zadan and Neil Meron will also be honored at the ceremonies, which fund GLAAD’s work to share culture-changing stories that build support for LGBT Equality. The award winning duo will receive the Vito Russo Award, presented annually to an openly LGBT media professional who has made a significant difference in promoting LGBT equality.  (For a complete list of nominees and ticket information, click here.)

Glee’s Naya Rivera and Cory Monteith will host the show, with other celebrity guests including Ted Allen, Laverne Cox, Dakota Fanning, Tracey Gold, Vinny Guadagnino, Megan Hilty, Isis King, Carson Kressley, Padma Lakshmi, Jay Manuel, Martha Plimpton, Thomas Roberts, Kim Wayans, and Wendy Williams. New York’s famed Rockettes will perform at the event.

The GLAAD Media Awards recognize and honor media for their fair, accurate and inclusive representations of the LGBT community and the issues that affect their lives.