The GLAAD Wrap: 'The Nowhere Inn' and 'Everybody's Talking about Jamie' in theaters; new music from Lil Nas X, Big Freedia, Kehlani, and more!

Every week, The GLAAD Wrap brings you LGBTQ-related entertainment news highlights, fresh stuff to watch out for, and fun diversions to help you kick off the weekend.

1) Long-anticipated movie Everybody’s Talking About Jamie is out today on Amazon Prime. Based on the West End musical, the film follows the titular Jamie, who stands out from the other kids at school dreams of becoming a drag queen. The film is streaming now; watch the trailer below.

2) Film The Nowhere Inn opens in theaters today. The movie comes from out co-writers and stars Carrie Brownstein and Annie Clark (St. Vincent), follow a fictionalized version of the duo, as Brownstein is hired to make a documentary about Clark, but things get rapidly out of hand. Click here for tickets and watch the trailer below.

3) Out actor Justice Smith has been cast in upcoming film We All Die Young, from writer Daveed Diggs and director Jake Schreir. The film follows Marcus (Smith), a young rapper who is making it big but is simultaneously creatively blocked. It also stars Idris Elba and Taylour Paige. In more casting news, out Dickinson star Ella Hunt has been cast in Netflix’s Lady Chatterley’s Lover, based on the novel of the same name, follows the titular role (out actor Emma Corrin) who falls out of love with her husband and starts and affair with her gamekeeper. Out actor Dan Bucatinsky is among those cast in upcoming film The Grotto. He will play Kip, the new best friend of protagonist Alice, who discovered she inherited a nightclub in the desert after her fiance died.

4) Netflix has announced that comedy series Gentefied will return for its second season on November 10. The series includes queer character Ana in the main ensemble. BET has announced that Lena Waithe’s Twenties will return for its second season on October 13. The show follows lesbian writer Hattie navigating the entertainment world with her two best friends.

5) High School Musical: The Musical: The Series has been renewed for a third season by Disney+. The show features gay characters Carlos and Seb in the main ensemble and features out actors Frankie Rodriguez, Joe Serafini, Julia Lester, Larry Saperstein and Joshua Bassett among the cast. In more Disney+ news, the new Proud Family: Louder and Prouder series has announced a slew of guest stars including out stars Lil Nas X, Lena Waithe, Bretman Rock, and Jane Lynch. The show also includes recurring stars Keke Palmer, Billy Porter, Zachary Quinto and EJ Johnson.

6) Out filmmaker Clea DuVall has a new project in the works, a comedy series Day Job, with Happiest Season co-writer Mary Holland. The show will star Holland as Meg, who is framed for a white collar crime by her wealthy family and has to enter the workplace for the first time. DuVall will write and direct the pilot. HBO Max will be adapting The Best At It, from out author and actor Maulik Pancholy, into a series. The book follows Rahul Kapoor, a gay Indian-American teenager dealing with the seventh grade in small town Indiana.

7) Lil Nas X’s debut album Montero comes out today. Stream the album from the out singer and rapper here, and watch his new music video for “That’s What I Want” below. Out singer and rapper Big Freedia released her new EP BDE today. Listen to the EP here!

8) Out singer Kehlani has announced that she will be releasing her third studio album Blue Water Road this winter. She also released the first single “Altar” from the album, along with a music video. Stream “Altar” here and watch the video below! Out singer Lauren Jauregui has announced her new project Prelude, new music which she will present in a livestream on October 14 and 15. Click here for tickets to the livestream.

9) The MTV Video Music Awards were held on Sunday. Among the winners was Lil Nas X, winning Video of the Year, the biggest award of the night, for his video “Montero (Call Me By Your Name).” The video also won Best Direction and Best Visual Effects. See the full list of winners here.