Demi Lovato, Ruby Rose, Troye Sivan, 'Sense8,' 'Carol,' 'I Am Jazz,' 'I Am Cait' among recipients at #glaadawards in LA

Singer and actress Demi Lovato was honored with the Vanguard Award at the 27th Annual GLAAD Media Awards, presented by her friend and fellow musician/actor Nick Jonas. Actress Ruby Rose was presented with the Stephen F. Kolzak Award by Taylor Swift.  Photos and videos of the event are posted at

Don't miss the GLAAD Media Awards exclusive one-hour special airing on Logo tonight at 10pm ET/PT!

Following is a complete list of GLAAD Media Awards announced Saturday in Los Angeles:

  • Vanguard Award:  Demi Lovato
  • Stephen F. Kolzak Award:  Ruby Rose
  • Outstanding Reality Program: TIE: I Am Cait (E!) and I Am Jazz (TLC)
  • Outstanding TV Movie or Limited Series: Bessie (HBO)
  • Outstanding Drama Series: Sense8 (Netflix)
  • Outstanding FilmWide Release: Carol (The Weinstein Company)
  • Outstanding Comedy Series: Transparent (Amazon Instant Video)
  • Outstanding Documentary: "Kumu Hina" Independent Lens (PBS)
  • Outstanding Daily Drama: The Bold and The Beautiful (CBS)
  • Outstanding Music Artist: Troye Sivan, Blue Neighbourhood (Capitol Records)
  • Outstanding Comic Book: Lumberjanes, written by Noelle Stevenson, Shannon Watters, Kat Leyh (BOOM! Studios)
  • Outstanding Talk Show Episode: "Janet Mock" Super Soul Sunday (OWN)

GLAAD previously announced that it was acknowledging two web series, Beautiful As I Want To Be ( and This is Me (Amazon Instant Video) with Special Recognition Awards.


  • Outstanding Spanish-Language Television Interview: "Orientación sexual y acoso escolar" Realidades en Contexto (CNN en Español)
  • Outstanding Novela:  Rastros de mentiras (MundoMax)
  • Outstanding Music Artist:  Ricky Martin, A quien quiera escuchar (Sony Music Latin)
  • Outstanding Local Television Interview: "La nueva transgeneración" Enfoque Los Ángeles (KVEA-Telemundo 52 [Los Ángeles])
  • Outstanding Local TV Journalism: "Cada 29 horas" Noticias 19 (KUVS-Univision 19 [Sacramento])
  • Outstanding Newspaper Article: "Padres transgénero - El único requisito para ser papá es el amor por los hijos" by Virginia Gaglianone (La Opinión)
  • Outstanding Digital Journalism Article: "Perú: violaciones correctivas: El terrible método para 'curar' a las lesbianas" by Leire Ventas (

Nick Jonas presented the Vanguard Award to Demi LovatoTaylor Swift presented the Stephen F. Kolzak Award to Ruby Rose. Comedian Ross Mathews hosted the event. Guests included: Patricia Arquette (Boyhood); Queen Latifah (Bessie); Lilly Wachowski (Sense8); Caitlyn JennerJenny BoylanCandis CayneZackary Drucker, Ella GiselleChandi Moore (I Am Cait);Jazz Jennings and her family (I Am Jazz); recording artist Troye SivanJill SolowayJudith LightAmy LandeckerAlexandra Billings, Rhys Ernst, Trace Lysette,  Our Lady J, Silas HowardRain Valdez (Transparent); Peter PaigeTeri PoloSherri Saum(The Fosters); Elliot FletcherMichael J. Willett (Faking It); Daniel Franzese (Looking); Scott Turner Schofield (The Bold and The Beautiful); Tig Notaro (Tig);  Jaime Camil (Jane The Virgin); Diego BonetaLea MicheleKeke Palmer (Scream Queens); Lena WaitheKelvin Yu (Master of None); Joel McKinnon Miller (Brooklyn Nine-Nine); Kat Graham (The Vampire Diaries);Zendaya (K.C. Undercover); Matthew DaddarioHarry Shum Jr. (Shadowhunters); Wilson Cruz (Red Band Society); Barrett Foa (NCIS: Los Angeles); Garcelle Beauvais (Grimm); Michael Harney (Orange Is the New Black); Sophie Ward (Heartbeat); Adrian ClemonsKentrell CollinsKareem DavisJerel MaddoxTim Smith (The Prancing Elites Project); Bambiana, Bionka, LANya,Xristina (Transcendent); Derek Hough (Dancing with the Stars); NeNe Leakes (Fashion Police); Paula Abdul (So You Think You Can Dance); TV personality Carson Kressley; stylist Brad Goreski; Gary Janetti (Vicious); Mercedes Soler (Realidades en Contexto); Robert LevineJonathan Steinberg (Black Sails); Sanaa Hamri (Empire); John Gidding (Secret Guide to Fabulous);Stephen Guarino (Dr. Ken); Jonathan BennettAdam SennBrent Antonello, James LaRosa (Hit the Floor); fashion designerAugust Getty; celebrity blogger Perez Hilton; out NFL player Michael Sam; former WNBA player and advocate Chamique Holdsclaw; recording artist Neil Amin-SmithJen RichardsAngelica Ross (Her Story); Carmen Carrera (Couples Therapy); model and advocate Geena Rocero; actor and trans advocate Nicole Maines; GLAAD President & CEO Sarah Kate Ellis.

Additional awards will be presented at the GLAAD Media Awards event at the Waldorf Astoria in New York on Saturday, May 14. Tickets are available now at To receive the latest updates on the GLAAD Media Awards, follow @glaad on Twitter and use the hashtag #glaadawards. The 27th Annual GLAAD Media Awards, presented by Delta Air Lines, Hilton, Ketel One Vodka, and Wells Fargo.

The GLAAD Media Awards recognize and honor media for their fair, accurate and inclusive representations of the lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender (LGBT) community and the issues that affect their lives.  They also fund GLAAD's work to amplify stories from the LGBT community that build support for equality.

Follow GLAAD: Facebook | Twitter | Tumblr | Instagram | Donate to GLAAD