67th Emmys: 'Transparent' winners support trans equality from the stage

Last night the 67th Primetime Emmy Awards aired live on FOX hosted by Brooklyn Nine-Nine star Andy Samberg and several LGBT creators and inclusive series took home wins.

Transparent creator Jill Soloway picked up the Emmy in Outstanding Directing in a Comedy Series. “We don’t have a trans tipping point yet; we have a trans civil rights problem,” Soloway said in her speech. She urged viewers to visit the National Center for Transgender Equality at  transequality.org to learn more about the Equality Act and how they can support transgender people. (You can also learn more at freedomforallamericans.org) Series star Jeffrey Tambor picked up the Emmy in Outstanding Lead Actor in a Comedy Series. “I’d like to dedicate my performance and this award to the transgender community. Thank you for your patience, thank you for your courage, thank you for your stories, thank you for your inspiration, thank you for letting us be part of the change,” Tambor said. He also thanked the trans men and women who have helped him learn, including Jenny Boylan, the co-chair of GLAAD’s Board of Directors.

Olive Kitteridge’s out writer Jane Anderson and out director Lisa Cholodenko took home the awards in Outstanding Writing and Outstanding Directing in a Limited Series, Movie or Dramatic Special. Orange is the New Black's Uzo Aduba won the Emmy in Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Drama Series for her work as Suzanne "Crazy Eyes" Warren. Last year she won Outstanding Guest Actress in a Comedy Series for the same role. LGBT-inclusive series Game of Thrones picked up the Emmy in Outstanding Drama Series.

Last weekend, the Creative Arts Emmys saw four wins for HBO’s Bessie including Outstanding Television Movie. Bradley Whitford won the Emmy in Outstanding Guest Actor in a Comedy Series for his role as Marcy in Amazon’s Transparent. Out choreographer Travis Wall tied for the Emmy in Outstanding Choreography for his work on So You Think You Can Dance and Jane Lynch won an Emmy in Outstanding Host for a Reality or Reality-Competition Series for NBC’s Hollywood Game Night.