Kristin Chenoweth, Robert Greenblatt, 'Glee,' 'Modern Family' among GLAAD Media Award recipients in Los Angeles, with special surprise guest Dolly Parton!

Tonight, GLAAD honored the media’s most outstanding images of the LGBT community at the GLAAD Media Awards in Los Angeles, hosted by Amy Poehler and Rashida Jones. Advocates, allies and dozens of celebrities came together at the Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites in downtown L.A. to celebrate the people and stories that are moving Americans toward equality for all. Binary Data UQ53JEIFrxU Emmy Award-winning actor Sean Hayes presented the Vanguard Award to Broadway legend Kristin Chenoweth in recognition of her work to promote LGBT equality. Special surprise guest Dolly Parton presented the Stephen F. Kolzak Award to Chairman of NBC Entertainment, Robert Greenblatt, in recognition of his work to bring LGBT characters to living rooms across the nation. Greenblatt gave life to such LGBT-inclusive TV shows as ‘The L Word,’ ‘Queer as Folk,’ ‘Six Feet Under’ and ‘United States of Tara.’ (Be sure to check out GLAAD’s YouTube page for video of tonight’s ceremonies, which will be posted in coming days.) In the Outstanding Comedy Series category, ‘Glee’ and ‘Modern Family’ tied to take home the GLAAD Media Award.  Golden Globe-winning actor Chris Colfer and Mike O’Malley accepted on behalf of ‘Glee,’ while ‘Modern Family’ stars Jesse Tyler Ferguson, Julie Bown and Ariel Winter accepted on behalf of the ABC smash comedy. Lifetime’s Project Runway took home the award for Outstanding Reality Series (accepted by Mondo Guerra), and MSNBC’s Lawrence O’Donnell was joined by Fort Worth City Councilman Joel Burns to accept the award in the Outstanding TV Journalism Segment category for O’Donnell’s segment ‘Fort Worth Speech,’ which highlight Burns’ passionate plea to end anti-LGBT bullying. GLAAD also announced that ‘I Love You Phillip Morris’ received the award for Outstanding Film – Limited Release. An especially poignant moment came when actress Kirsten Dunst presented the Special Recognition Award to 17-year-old Nikki Peet, who attracted national media attention after she successfully petitioned her Corpus Christi high school to form a Gay-Straight Alliance, despite the administration’s opposition. The GLAAD Media Awards series will continue in San Francisco on May 14, the final ceremony in 2011. (To buy your tickets to the GLAAD Media Awards in San Francisco, click here.) Pop sensation Ricky Martin and hip hop mogul Russell Simmons were among the winners at the GLAAD Media Awards in New York, held last month at the Marriott Marquis in Times Square. (To see a complete list of winners announced in New York, click here.) Binary Data jMQfWkP0lco The GLAAD Media Awards recognize and honor media for their fair, accurate and inclusive representations of the lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender community and the issues that affect their lives.  GLAAD Media Award nominees were published, released or broadcast between January 1, 2010 and December 31, 2010. To receive the latest updates on the GLAAD Media Awards, follow @glaad on Twitter and use the hashtag #glaadawards.