Adam Lambert to Perform at the 21st Annual GLAAD Media Awards in Los Angeles; Mississippi Student Constance McMillen to Present Stephen F. Kolzak Award

GLAAD announced today that recording artist Adam Lambert will perform at the 21st Annual GLAAD Media Awards in Los Angeles on April 17. Lambert's debut album, For Your Entertainment, debuted at #3 on the Billboard 200 list and has since been certified Gold by the Recording Industry Association of America. He is nominated this year for a GLAAD Media Award in the Outstanding Music Artist category. “GLAAD has advocated for out music artists, including myself, and I am proud to be part of the 21st Annual GLAAD Media Awards this year,” said Adam Lambert.  “GLAAD's work to share stories that grow acceptance and understanding about the gay and transgender community is so important in our culture today.” (For more information about the 21st Annual GLAAD Media Awards, visit our Facebook event page here) GLAAD also confirmed that Constance McMillen, the 18-year-old student from Fulton, Mississippi whose high school cancelled a prom rather than permit McMillen to attend with her girlfriend, would be presenting Wanda Sykes with the Stephen F. Kolzak Award. With the help of the American Civil Liberties Union, McMillen filed suit against her school, asking them to reinstate the prom for everyone, without discrimination. This week, a federal judge in Mississippi ruled that while he wouldn't force the school to hold a prom but agreed that McMillen's First Amendment rights had been violated. During an appearance on The Wanda Sykes Show, Sykes asked McMillen to present the award to her.  Emmy® Award-winning comedian Wanda Sykes will be honored with the Stephen F. Kolzak Award, which is presented to an openly LGBT media professional who has made a significant difference in promoting equal rights for our community. GLAAD previously announced that Golden Globe®-winning actress Drew Barrymore will be honored with the Vanguard Award at the Los Angeles ceremony. The Vanguard Award is presented to media professionals who have increased the visibility and understanding of the LGBT community. Candis Cayne and Wilson Cruz will host the event. Other guests and presenters scheduled to attend include cast members from Glee, Tom Ford (A Single Man), Eric Dane (Valentine's Day, Grey's Anatomy), Jason Lewis (Sex & the City), Sofia Vergara (Modern Family), Chaz Bono, Benjamin Bratt (La Mission), RuPaul (RuPaul's Drag Race), Bryan Batt (Mad Men), Rob Halford of Judas Priest, Elizabeth Keener, Clementine Ford (The L Word) and Countess LuAnn de Lesseps (Real Housewives of New York City).  More names to be announced. For more information about the 21st Annual GLAAD Media Awards, including a complete list of nominees, please visit