Joy Behar to be Honored at the 21st Annual GLAAD Media Awards

GLAAD announced today that Daytime Emmy-winner and LGBT advocate Joy Behar will receive the Excellence in Media Award at the 21st Annual GLAAD Media Awards on March 13, 2010 at the Marriott Marquis in New York City. The Excellence in Media Award is presented to media professionals who advocate for LGBT issues and increase the visibility of the LGBT community. Events will also be held in Los Angeles on April 17, as well as in San Francisco on June 5. Tony Award Winning actor Alan Cumming will be hosting the New York GLAAD Media Awards, with other guests including Gabourey Sidibe (Precious); Sigourney Weaver (Prayers for Bobby); Bryan Batt (Mad Men); Sarah Paulson (Studio 60 on the Sunset Strip); Rosie Perez (Lipstick Jungle); Sandra Bernhard (Dare); Nigel Barker, Jay Manuel, Isis King (America's Next Top Model); Jill Zarin (The Real Housewives of New York City). Awards will be presented for the following categories: Outstanding Drama Series, Outstanding TV Movie or Mini-Series, Outstanding TV Journalism Segment, and Outstanding Digital Journalism Article. A complete list of this year's 152 nominees is available at Behar will be receiving the Excellence in Media Award for her LGBT advocacy on ABC's The View as well as her continued representation and increased visibility of LGBT-specific issues on her HLN talk show, The Joy Behar Show, which premiered in 2009. Several episodes of her show have featured not only LGBT issues, but LGBT guests such as Academy Award winning screenwriter Dustin Lance Black, who discussed his experiences being raised Mormon. Behar's first began advocating for LGBT issues when she became a member of The View's cast, which has won 28 Daytime Emmy Awards. In August 2009, Daytime Emmy awards history was made when Ms. Behar and her fellow co-hosts Barbara Walters, Whoopi Goldberg, , Elisabeth Hasselbeck and Sherri Shepherd were named Outstanding Talk Show Host. This marked the first time in the 36 year history of NATAS that multiple talk show hosts received this honor. For her consistent inclusion of the LGBT community in her talk show, GLAAD is pleased to present Ms. Behar with the Excellence in Media Award, where she will be joining esteemed past recipients such as Billy Crystal, Juliane Moore, Diane Sawyer, Glenn Close, Patti LaBelle, Vanessa Redgrave,  Tyra Banks, and Phil Donahue. Additionally, Cynthia Nixon, out star of Sex and the City and LGBT advocate, will be awarded the Vito Russo Award from Michael Patrick King (Executive Producer, Sex and the City) for promoting equality during GLAAD’s New York City ceremony on March 13 at the Marriott Marquis.

Academy Award-nominee Gabourey Sibide will open the show and introduce the Youth Pride Chorus- a choir of LGBT teens from New York City.

Previously GLAAD announced that Drew Barrymore will receive the Vanguard Award and Wanda Sykes will receive the Stephen F. Kolzak Award at the Hyatt Regency Century Plaza in LA on April 17; and Levi Strauss President, Robert Hanson, will receive the Local Hero Award at the Westin St. Francis in San Francisco, California on June 5.

For a complete list of all the nominees please visit: To purchase your ticket to one of the 21st Annual GLAAD Media Awards ceremonies, please visit Be sure to purchase your tickets for these events that are not be missed.