Stars Come Out for the 20th Annual GLAAD Media Awards in New York

**Just announced - A new $100 web-only ticket option!!**  Click here to purchase your tickets for the 20th Annual GLAAD Media Award in New York City! We've got a tremendous line-up of special guests and honorees to kick off the 20th Annual GLAAD Media Awards presented by IBM and New York presenting partner Prudential on Saturday, March 28 at the Marriott Marquis in Times Square.
Click to Join Our Facebook Event Page!

Click to Join Our Facebook Event Page!

Making one of his first appearances at a LGBT event since coming out in People, Clay Aiken will present the Excellence in Media Award to Tyra Banks and T.R. Knight will present the Vito Russo Award to Suze Orman. Special Recognition awards will be presented to Phil Donahue and The Laramie Project, 10 Years Later - The Lasting Legacy of Matthew Shepard, a two-hour documentary broadcast on Sirius XM Radio.

Some of our special guests.

20 years ago when the words "gay" and "lesbian" were taboo in the media, we held the first GLAAD Media Awards to honor media for outstanding representations of the LGBT community. We celebrated 34 nominees in seven categories and Phil Donahue received our first Special Honoree award for including real stories about the lives of gay people on Donahue. This year the GLAAD Media Awards are celebrating their 20th anniversary with 186 nominees in 41 categories and ceremonies in New York on March 28, Los Angeles on April 18 and San Francisco on May 9. You can see all of the nominees by going to: You can be part of this extraordinary night.  Come celebrate the GLAAD Media Awards' 20th anniversary with us by getting your tickets to the event. Comedian Kate Clinton will be the host of our New York event and there will be many other guests and presenters scheduled to attend, including: 
Some of this year's special guests.

Some of our special guests.

Jonathan Adler and Simon Doonan (Top Design)

Former NBA player John Amaechi

Jensen Atwood and Patrik-Ian Polk (Noah's Arc: Jumping the Broom)

Tyson Beckford (Make Me A Supermodel)

Michelle Clunie (Queer as Folk)

Tim Gunn (Project Runway)

Van Hansis and Jake Silberman (As the World Turns)

Cherry Jones (24)

Jay Manuel (America's Next Top Model)

Some of the special guest appearing at the 20th Annual GLAAD Media Awards.

Some of our special guests.

S. Epatha Merkerson (Law & Order)

Jasika Nicole (Fringe)

Chris Noth (Sex & the City)

Keith Olbermann (MSNBC)

Ana Ortiz, Michael Urie and Vanessa Williams (Ugly Betty)

Jenny Shimizu

Hannah Storm (ESPN)

Jane Velez-Mitchell (CNN)

Junior Vasquez will be the guest DJ at the after-party.

Awards will be presented onstage in the following categories: Outstanding Film - Limited Release, Outstanding Documentary, Outstanding TV Journalism Segment, Outstanding Digital Journalism Article, and Outstanding Spanish-Language Magazine Overall Coverage. Clay Aiken will present the Excellence in Media Award to Tyra Banks for increasing the visibility and understanding of the LGBT community through her work. Banks has consistently featured LGBT people on The Tyra Banks Show and continues to increase the visibility of the community through the diversity of her co-hosts and contestants on America's Next Top Model, including her inclusion of Isis King, the show's first transgender contestant, on the most recently completed cycle. Suze Orman will receive the Vito Russo Award which is presented to an openly LGBT media professional who has made a significant difference in promoting equal rights for our community.  The six-time New York Times bestselling author and two-time Emmy Award winner has raised the profile of LGBT Americans by using her position in the public eye to convey that financial planning is a concern for all Americans, regardless of sexual orientation or gender identity.  A Special Recognition award will be presented to Phil Donahue who, twenty years after receiving our first Special Honor, continues to be a vocal supporter of the LGBT community. The Laramie Project, 10 Years Later - The Lasting Legacy of Matthew Shepard will also receive a Special Recognition award. The two hour documentary on Sirius XM Radio narrated by acclaimed actress Stockard Channing and featuring an introduction by GLAAD Media Award-winning journalist Barbara Walters shared the stories of individuals touched by the critically acclaimed play The Laramie Project and its discussion of hate crimes. The GLAAD Media Awards wouldn't be where we are today without the help of our corporate partners. More than 100 corporate sponsors are showing their support, including National Presenting Partner IBM and Local Presenting Partners ABSOLUT® VODKA and Prudential. GLAAD is also grateful to the event's Platinum Underwriters Comcast, TimeWarner and University of Phoenix. Allstate Insurance Company, American Airlines, Barefoot Wine, Disney/ABC Television Group, HMS Media, Herb Ritts Foundation, New York City Marriott & Renaissance Hotels, Renaissance New York Hotel, MillerCoors, PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP, Southwest Airlines, The Terry Watanabe Charitable Trust and Wyndham Hotel Group support the 20th Annual GLAAD Media Awards as Underwriter Partners. Don't miss out... Click here and purchase your tickets today!