WGA Honors Milk, Gay TV Projects

February 8, 2009
In what is seen as a precursor to the Oscars, The Writers Guild of America handed out its top awards on Saturday, with key feature prizes going to Slumdog Millionaire as best adapted screenplay and the biographical drama Milk for original screenplay. Writer Dustin Lance Black received a standing ovation after his win for Milk. In one of the night's most emotional moments, Black thanked "God for a dream come true and I thank God for giving us Harvey Milk." Black also won the previously announced Paul Selvin Award. There were a number of other WGA winners for gay-inclusive television projects, including: Dramatic series: "Mad Men," Lisa Albert, Jane Anderson, Rick Cleveland, Kater Gordon, David Isaacs, Andre Jacquemetton, Maria Jacquemetton, Marti Noxon, Robin Veith, Matthew Weiner Comedy series: "30 Rock," Jack Burditt, Kay Cannon, Robert Carlock, Tina Fey, Donald Glover, Andrew Guest, Matt Hubbard, Jon Pollack, John Riggi, Tami Sagher, Ron Weiner New series: "In Treatment," Rodrigo Garcia, Bryan Goluboff, Davey Holmes, William Merritt Johnson, Amy Lippman, Sarah Treem Episodic comedy: "Succession" ("30 Rock"), Andrew Guest & John Riggi Daytime serials: "As the World Turns," Jean Passanante, Leah Laiman, Courtney Simon, Lisa Connor, David A. Levinson, Peter Brash, Richard Culliton, Susan Dansby, Cheryl Davis, Leslie Nipkow