26th Annual GLAAD Media Awards Official Entry Form

Return to Call for Submissions Information

Eligibility period:  January 1, 2014 – December 31, 2014

Call for Submissions:  Entries are accepted at any time during the calendar year, before the submission deadline.

Submission deadline:  Materials must be received in the Los Angeles GLAAD office by Thursday, November 13, 2014, 6:00 p.m. PT. 

Why is the submission deadline before the end of the eligibility period?:  GLAAD will consider media images which appear between November 13 and December 31, 2014.  However, we require that all media projects which appeared before November 13 be submitted by the November 13 deadline. 

If you have a project that you know will appear between the deadline and December 31, please contact GLAAD at submissions@glaad.org to make special arrangements for submission.

Must a media project be submitted in order to be nominated?

Mainstream Media – GLAAD monitors mainstream media on a year-round basis as part of our work to fight defamation and promote fair, accurate, and inclusive LGBT images in the media.  This monitoring provides a pool of potential nominees for GLAAD to review.  GLAAD may choose to nominate LGBT images from these media outlets – even if the image is not submitted.

Media Outlets Created By and For an LGBT Audience – GLAAD does not monitor media created by and for the LGBT community for defamation – therefore we do not generate a pool of potential nominees.  Furthermore, the limited availability and distribution of this media means GLAAD is not physically able to monitor it.  Therefore ALL media outlets which are created by and for the LGBT community MUST submit their programming and journalism in order for it to be eligible for nomination.

Nominees announced: Nominees will be announced in mid-January 2015.  Please check www.glaad.org/mediaawards for the exact date.

Award Recipients announced:  Award recipients will be announced at each of the 26th Annual GLAAD Media Awards events.  For the exact dates, please visit www.glaad.org/mediaawards

Award Categories in Each City:  The award categories will be divided among the GLAAD Media Award ceremonies.  In early-February 2015 GLAAD will announce which awards will be given out onstage in each city.  (Due to the number of categories and limited amount of show time, not all awards will be announced onstage.)

Outstanding Blog category: The definition for the Outstanding Blog category states: "Given to an individual or group blog based on the quantity and quality of their coverage throughout the year.  Blog must be independent and not part of a larger recognized media outlet.  Blog may consist of original material and/or aggregated content with original commentary.  Receives Award:  Award is given to the blog editor.  Blog editor or contributors may accept."  Please note that this category does not recognize individual blog posts.

The submission fee for the Outstanding Blog category is waived: If you are submitting a blog for consideration, you may enter your information in the form below. Otherwise click here to return to the submissions page.

This person's connection to the submission.
If you are not the contact listed above, please enter your contact information