Marriage Equality


Only 13 states still have marriage equality bans on the books: Alabama, Arkansas, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Michigan, Mississippi, Nebraska, North Dakota, Ohio, Tennessee, and Texas. However, all of these bans are actively being challenged in court, and most have already been declared unconstitutional by at least one court.

Recent News on Marriage Equality


On Tuesday, clergy and faith leaders from across the state will gather at the Texas Capitol to issue calls – rooted in faith and Texas values – for an end to discrimination based on sexual orientation and gender identity or expression.


Despite some last-minute legal resistance, marriages for loving and committed same-sex couples have commenced in Alabama.


The 11th Circuit Court of Appeals denied the state of Alabama’s request to extend a stay in two federal court rulings in favor of the freedom to marry. This means that the stay will expire on February 9th and same-sex couples in Alabama will subsequently be able to marry.


GracePointe Church in Nashville has been in a three-year discernment process about the role of LGBT people in the church. Now, TIME Magazine reports that the church has come out in support of LGBT people and their full participation in the church.


The Irish government released wording of the referendum on same-sex marriage, which reads as follows: "Marriage may be contracted in accordance with law by two persons without distinction as to their sex."


Leaders from the Church of Latter Day Saints, or the Mormons, held a press conference today, stating that the church would, in undetermined cases, support non-discrimination laws that protect LGBT people. However, in return, the church stated that it would not change its beliefs about LGBT people, and would continue to support broad religious exemptions that undermine those laws.


GLAAD's Weekly Update on News, Entertainment and Online Media. To subscribe, click here.

Sign up for the lastest Marriage Equality news and Actions!