Navigation

This is a debugging block

Support Navigation

This is a debugging block

Sub-Navigation

This is a debugging block

GLAAD Social Media

This is a debugging block

connect with glaad

PBS to stream #GLAADAwards nominee 'The Welcoming Movement' followed by online discussion

Content

This is a debugging block

PBS' The Welcoming Movement, nominated for a GLAAD Media Award in the Outstanding TV Journalism - Newsmagazine category, tracks the triumphs and struggles of three churches around the U.S. who are committed to accepting and affirming LGBT people: Community United Church of Christ in St. Paul Park, Minneapolis; the Church of the Red Rocks in Sedona, Arizona and Covenant Baptist UCC in Washington, DC.

This June 26 at 8:00pm CST (9:00pm EDT and 7:00pm PDT), there will be a special opportunity to join an online screening of The Welcoming Movement along with an online discussion at the conclusion of the program. Special guests who will answer questions during this online discussion include Rev. Oby Ballinger (shown right), pastor of Community United Church of Christ in St. Paul Park, Minnesota, where he has served since December 2009, and Javen Swanson (shown below), Interim Faith Work Director at the National Gay and Lesbian Task Force, where he works closely with leaders in the welcoming church movement. He is a future pastor of the Evangelical Lutheran Church in America.

To find out more information and participate in this special opportunity, check out the event's Facebook page and sign up here!

Related Stories

Highlight First

This is a debugging block

 

Featured Story

GLAAD has released its second annual 'Studio Responsibility Index,' a report that maps the quantity, quality and diversity of images of LGBT people in films released by the seven largest motion picture studios during the 2013 calendar year.