20th Annual GLAAD Media Awards Hold Final Event in San Francisco

The 20th Annual GLAAD Media Awards season will come to a close on Saturday, May 9 at the Hilton San Francisco in California.

The always hysterical comedian Chelsea Handler will be on hand to host the show and announce winners!

Chelsea Handler

Chelsea Handler

After a fantastic line-up of celebrities and special guests joined GLAAD to show their support for LGBT-inclusive media images, in New York City on March 28 and Los Angeles on April 18, we have more famous faces that will help us celebrate the 20th anniversary of the culture-changing Awards.

You can be part of this extraordinary night by purchasing your tickets to the silent auction, Awards dinner, and after party. And this year, we've announced special $100 show only tickets


Special guests and presenters scheduled to attend, include:

Calpernia Addams

Megan Cavanagh

Gabrielle Christian

Michelle Clunie

Laverne Cox

Wilson Cruz

Robert Gant

Dan Jinks

Jason Lewis

Mandy Musgrave

Suze Orman

Simon Rex

Eduardo Xol

Judge David Young

Awards will be presented onstage in the following categories: Outstanding Television Movie, Outstanding Reality Program and Outstanding TV Journalism - Newsmagazine.

Chad Allen

Chad Allen

Actor and producer Chad Allen will receive the Davidson/Valentini Award, which is named after Craig Davidson, GLAAD's first executive director, and his partner Michael Valentini. The award is presented to an openly LGBT media professional who has made a significant difference in promoting equal rights for our community. Through his acting roles and film projects, Allen has amplified the voices of LGBT community.

Just in 2008, in addition to appearing as openly gay detective Donald Strachey in here! Networks' The Donald Strachey Mystery Series, Allen served as a producer on the film Save Me, which offered audiences a look into the world of so-called "ex gay ministries."  The Donald Strachey Mystery Series is nominated for Outstanding Television Movie this year and Save Me is a nominee for Outstanding Film - Limited Release.

Not only is Chad Allen an advocate as an actor and producer but he has been a vocal supporter for marriage equality in interviews with news outlets including CNN's Larry King Live.

Dustin Lance Black

Dustin Lance Black will receive a Special Recognition Award for his work to raise visibility of our community as a screenwriter on the films Milk and Pedro. And who could forget his moving acceptance speech calling for marriage equality at the Academy Awards this year while wearing a white knot.

Geoff Callan & Mike Shaw, the filmmakers responsible for the documentary Pursuit of Equality will take home the San Francisco Local Hero Award.  The film is an emotionally charged documentary that puts a face on American citizens who strive for marriage equality and gives viewers an inside look at Mayor Gavin Newsom's decision to allow the first same-sex couple to exchange their vows. This past year, Callan and Shaw took the film across California to fight the anti-gay Proposition 8.

The San Francisco Awards will also include two very special performances by out pop music phenomenon Matt Alber and extraordinary violinist Nadja Salerno-Sonnenberg with the New Century Chamber Orchestra.

The GLAAD Media Awards wouldn't be where we are today without the help of our corporate partners. More than 100 corporate sponsors are showing their support, including National Presenting Partner IBM and Local Presenting Partners ABSOLUT® VODKA and Prudential. GLAAD is also grateful to the event's Platinum Underwriters Comcast, TimeWarner and University of Phoenix. Allstate Insurance Company, American Airlines, Barefoot Wine, Disney/ABC Television Group, HMS Media, Herb Ritts Foundation, New York City Marriott & Renaissance Hotels, Renaissance New York Hotel, MillerCoors, NBC Universal,  PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP, Southwest Airlines, The Terry Watanabe Charitable Trust and Wyndham Hotel Group support the 20th Annual GLAAD Media Awards as Underwriter Partners.

Don't miss out... Click here and purchase your tickets today!