Stars Come Out for the 20th Annual GLAAD Media Awards in Los Angeles

We've got an exceptional line-up of special guests and honorees to continue the 20th Annual GLAAD Media Awards on Saturday April 18th at the Nokia Theatre L.A. Live in Los Angeles, California.

The 20th Annual GLAAD Media Awards kicked off in New York City on March 28. A fantastic line up of celebrities and media professionals came out to show their support for fair and accurate media images of the LGBT community.

More famous faces will come out in Los Angeles to be honored and show support for our community. You can be part of this extraordinary night. Come celebrate the GLAAD Media Awards' 20th anniversary in Los Angeles with us by getting your tickets to the event, starting at just $50.

Special guests and presents scheduled to attend, include:

Jessica Alba

Chad Allen

Jennifer Beals, Lauren Holloman, Leisha Hailey, Pam Grier,

Katherine Moennig and Illene Chaiken (The L Word)

Dustin Lance Black

Michelle Clunie

Bruce Cohen and Dan Jinks

Wilson Cruz

Alan Cumming

JD Disalvatore

Scott Michael Foster

Robert Grant

Rebecca Gayheart

Balthazar Getty

Thea Gill

Teri Hatcher

Paul James

T. R. Knight

Rex Lee

Megan Mullally

Nichelle Nichols

Peter Paige

Brad Rowe

Darryl Stephens

Amber Stevens

George Takei

Gus Van Sant

Trevor Wright

Awards will be presented onstage in the following categories:

Outstanding Film - Wide Release, Outstanding Comedy Series, Outstanding Individual Episode (in a series without a regular LGBT character, Outstanding Talk Show Episode, Outstanding Spanish-Language TV Journalism - Newsmagazine.

Kathy Griffin will receive the Vanguard Award, which is presented to media professionals who, through their work, have increased the visibility and understanding of the LGBT community. A long time ally of the LGBT community, Kathy Griffin consistently includes LGBT people on the two-time Emmy-winning reality program Kathy Griffin: My Life on the D-List,as well as in her comedy specials, her Grammy-nominated comedy CD For Your Consideration, and in her stand-up routines around the world.

This year Kathy Griffin: My Life on the D-List received its second consecutive GLAAD Media Awards nomination for Outstanding Reality Program. When not making audiences around the world laugh on television or stage, she is a vocal supporter of marriage equality in interviews with media outlets including Larry King Live. In 2008, she appeared in a public service announcement produced by human rights group Causecast urging viewers to vote against Proposition 8, the ballot initiative that eliminated the right to marry for gay and lesbian couples in California.

Bishop Gene Robinson will be honored with the Stephen F. Kolzak Award for his work to raise visibility of LGBT-inclusive voices of faith. Bishop Robinson became the first openly gay Bishop of the Episcopal Church after he was elected Bishop of the Episcopal Diocese of New Hampshire in 2004. He most recently delivered the invocation at the opening celebration of the Presidential Inauguration at the Lincoln Memorial.

His ongoing work as a LGBT advocate has been featured in international news outlets including The New York Times, Reuters and NPR. His personal story is featured in the documentary For the Bible Tells Me So and in his 2008 book In the Eye of the Storm. For the Bible Tells Me So profiles several LGBT families discussing their Christian faith and received the award for Outstanding Documentary at the 19th Annual GLAAD Media Awards.

Robinson joins Rufus Wainwright, Melissa Etheridge, Bill Condon, Todd Haynes, Alan Ball, Ellen DeGeneres and Sir Ian McKellen as a recipient of the award, which is presented to an openly LGBT media professional who has made a significant difference in promoting equal rights for our community.

The GLAAD Media Awards wouldn't be where we are today without the help of our corporate partners. More than 100 corporate sponsors are showing their support, including National Presenting Partner IBM and Local Presenting Partners ABSOLUT® VODKA and Prudential. GLAAD is also grateful to the event's Platinum Underwriters Comcast, TimeWarner and University of Phoenix. Allstate Insurance Company, American Airlines, Barefoot Wine, Disney/ABC Television Group, HMS Media, Herb Ritts Foundation, New York City Marriott & Renaissance Hotels, Renaissance New York Hotel, MillerCoors, PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP, Southwest Airlines, The Terry Watanabe Charitable Trust and Wyndham Hotel Group support the 20th Annual GLAAD Media Awards as Underwriter Partners.

Don't miss out... Click here and purchase your tickets today!

Check out GLAAD President Neil G. Giuliano below, speaking at this year's GLAAD Media Awards in New York on March 28, 2009.

Nominees and special guests for the 20th Annual GLAAD Media Awards in Los Angeles on April 18th gathered for an informal reception for table hosts on March 31.

Photos by Brian Putnam

Thea Gill & Robert Gant (Queer As Folk)

Thea Gill & Robert Gant (Queer As Folk)

Nick Oceano (Director), Alex Loynaz (Pedro), Alex Castillo (Pedro)

Nick Oceano (Director), Alex Loynaz (Pedro), Alex Castillo (Pedro)

Trevor Wright (Shelter) and Laura Shields

Trevor Wright (Shelter) & Laura Shields

Wilson Cruz & Steve Wozencraft

Wilson Cruz & Steve Wozencraft

JD Disalvatore (Producer, Shelter), CHRIS Hulen (SHELTER), Wilson Cruz and Elliot Elsner (Membership Events Coordinator, GLAAD)

JD Disalvatore (Producer, Shelter), Chris Hulen (SHELTER), Wilson Cruz & Elliot Elsner (Membership Events Coordinator, GLAAD)

Dan Jinks and Matt Whitney

Dan Jinks & Matt Whitney

Darryl Stephens (Noah's Arc)

Darryl Stephens (Noah's Arc)

Christian Vincent (Noah’s Arc), Darryl Stephens (Noah’s Arc), Robert Williams and J. Michael Durnhil (Senior Vice President, GLAAD)

Christian Vincent (Noah’s Arc), Darryl Stephens (Noah’s Arc), Robert Williams & J. Michael Durnhil (Senior Vice President, GLAAD)

Bruce Cohen (Producer, Milk), Jeremy Glazer (Save Me) & Chad Allen

Bruce Cohen (Producer, Milk), Jeremy Glazer (Save Me) & Chad Allen