PS Film Fest Features Exciting LGBT Lineup

Before Sundance kicks off, the 20th Annual Palm Springs International Film Festival gets underway Jan 8-19 with a stellar lineup of fare: 209 films considered to be the best in international and American cinema. At least 18 of the films feature strong LGBT content.

The festival has become known for giving audiences access to foreign films submitted for Oscar consideration and this year they will not disappoint by showing 50 of the 67 films submitted in the Best Foreign Language Film category.

In addition, both Sean Penn and Gus Van Sant are being honored for their work in Milk during the festival's opening night gala on Tuesday, January 6. Also being honored are Ron Howard, Clint Eastwood, Anne Hathaway, Amy Adams and Dakota Fanning.

Between Sundance and Palm Springs (and Berlin hot on their heels!) how will you ever plan all your LGBT viewing, you ask? Here's a snapshot of the LGBT-inclusive film schedule happening in Palm Springs. Fortunately, all movies screen twice!

Friday, January 09
7:00 PM Eugene
7:00 PM Patrik, Age 1.5

Saturday, January 10
10:00 AM Eugene
10:00 AM Patrik, Age 1.5
6:30 PM Suddenly, Last Winter
7:00 PM American Primitive

Sunday, January 11
12:30 PM Suddenly, Last Winter
7:30 PM Prodigal Sons

Monday, January 12
10:00 AM Of Time and the City
7:30 PM Ready? OK!

Tuesday, January 13
10:00 AM Prodigal Sons
1:30 PM American Primitive
3:30 PM Clapham Junction
4:00 PM Of Time and the City
7:30 PM Baby Love

Wednesday, January 14
9:30 AM Born in 68
1:30 PM Ready? OK!
3:30 PM Be Like Others
4:30 PM I Can't Think Straight
7:30 PM Chef's Special

Thursday, January 15
9:30 AM Be Like Others
1:30 PM Chef's Special
3:30 PM For My Wife
6:30 PM Showgirls, Provincetown, MA

Friday, January 16
9:30 AM Clapham Junction
10:30 AM Baby Love
12:30 PM For My Wife
4:00 PM Valentino: The Last Emporer
6:00 PM Pedro
7:30 PM Woman's Hearts

Saturday, January 17
9:30 AM Pedro
10:30 AM I Can't Think Straight
12:00 PM Valentino: The Last Emporer
12:30 PM Showgirls, Provincetown, MA
2:30 PM Woman's Hearts

Sunday, January 18
6:30 PM Born in 68

Issues: